253 file papers

Newmai News Network
DIMAPUR, Feb 7: Altogether 253 candidates have filed nomination papers to contest in the ensuing Assembly election of Nagaland. The State goes to the poll on February 27.
22 candidates had filed their nomination papers on February 6 while the remaining candidates filed their nomination papers today, the last day to do so.
Scrutiny will be held on February 8 and the last date for withdrawal is February 12.
Incumbent Chief Minister, TR Zeliang of NPF and former Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio of NDPP are among the candidates. Surprisingly, former Chief Minster Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu who is the incumbent president of NPF did not file nomination paper. Instead, Dr Shurhozelie’s son Khriehu Liezietsu will contest from the Constituency the former Chief Minister represented.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.