2nd Yonex Sunrise State Level Badminton Tournament kicks off

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Aug 9 : The 2nd Yonex Sunrise State Level Badminton Tournament being organised under the supervision of Manipur Badminton Association (MBA) kicked off today at Indoor Hall of MBA, DM College Campus Imphal.
The inaugural function of the tournament which will see 186 players of various age groups compete for top honours, was graced by Deputy Chief Minister, Y Joykumar, who is all the president of MBA and RK Bijoy Singh, former vice president of MBA as presidium members.
The first day of the tournament witnessed completion of first round competitions of the men’s doubles and the U-13 boys’ singles categories. The semi-final line up of the U-13 Girl’s singles competition was also completed today.
Men’s Doubles (Round of 32)
S Manisana and S Someshkumar moved into the men’s doubles round of 16 with a 21-12, 21-16 win over Ganendra S and Samson S while A Pratap and Y Anand registered a 21-11, 21-11 win over N Amarjit and M Sanathoi in another match.
N Dingku and N Joychandra carved out a 2-1 win over M Koireng and S Ranjoy in the third fixture. Dingku and Joychandra lost the second set before returning into the deciding set and sealed the game 21-17, 17-21, 21-18.
Kh Niranjoy and Kh Punsiba overran Ng Bonym and RK Henry 21-17, 21-19 to seal a place in the round of 16 while Khundongbam Jogindro and Laishram Akash edged out Kh Dipu and L Bishwajit 18-21, 21-17, 21-17 in another match.
TH Johnson and Y Rakesh also made themselves into the last 16 round with an overwhelming 21-6, 21-6 win over Johnson K and O Balendrajit while H Rohenkumar and Kalenyai Kh saw off Alex and Dineshkumar 21-7, 21-11 to move into next round.
Gold Taorem and Y Naocha also combined well to roll into the next round of the competition posting a 2-19, 21-16 win over Dr Amitrasen and Dr Vinay.
L Anil and Tikendra N put off a spirited challenge in another round of 32 tie against Kh Thomton and Thomas to post a 20-22, 21-11, 21-17 win while G Rajesh and Saikhomba T prevailed over N Premchand and H Sushil to pull off a 21-10, 21-14 win.
A Binit and K Netajit edged out H Rajesh and Y Bijoykumar 21-23, 21-11, 21-19 in another match before Ch Ranjan and Siddhant Yadav notched up a 21-8, 21-11 win to move into the next round.
Minachandra and L Socrates were able to beat O Bhagat and O Lanngamba 21-12, 19-21, 21-18 and sealed the last 16 round berth.
AK Boney and K Ravishankar enjoyed a bye to cruise into the last 16 round of the tournament today.
U-11 Boys singles (Round of 32)
Devbarta got a bye in the U-11 boys singles competition and move into the last 16 round while Kh Amarjit was quick to beat Rishav Ng 21-2, 21-9 and booked the last 16 round berth.
Ereikomba Kh also enjoyed a straight set (21-15, 21-10 ) win over S Dibakar Sharma to advance into the next round while M Bhairav outlasted Neshijit L 21-16, 21-8 in another fixture.
Martin I got a bye while Juvaraj Wahengbam enjoyed a walkover as his opponent Pradeepkumar Yaikhom did not turn up.
Gung Sh secured a 21-16, 21-14 win over Th Hursh to move into the last 16 round while Lalhaba M had a 21-15, 21-15 win over L Luwangamba.
In other matches, Kyoveio V beat Kalkrishna Th 21-13, 21-4; Neelachal Ph outlasted Chinglemba A 21-3, 21-7; Sushanta got a bye, Sundarlal beat Kh Sanathoi 21-12, 21-4; K Drak beat Akham Morish 21-9, 21-9 and K Dayananda edged out L Sailesh 21-10, 21-11.
U-13 Girls Singles
Khangembam Senlina cruised into the U-13 girls singles semi-final with a 21-19, 17-21, 21-17 win over Leonie T today. Elangbam Rogina, Konsam Gunjan Devi and Sananu Meishnam got byes to qualify for the semi-final round.
The tournament will run till August 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.