Disabled Cricket team leave Imphal

Imphal, Feb 13 : A 13 member disabled cricket team of the State have left Imphal today along with 4 officials for the 11th National Para Cricket Championship 2018 to be held at Nagpur from February 17 to 19.
The team were flagged off Joychandra Konthoujam, vice president, IPSA and wished them luck for the upcoming championship. The team were selected under the aegis of Disabled Development Association of Manipur (DDAM) after conducting a 77 days long non residential coaching camps.
DDAM has been conducting the coaching camps and sending the State team without the support of State’s Government for the last seven years. The expenses of the teams have been born through some donations and contributions among the members of the association. The association who is facing hard in managing the expenses also expressed unhappiness over the Government’s unattentiveness despite several requests being made on many occasions.
Manipur is the only State in the North East who are eligible for this year’s championship which is organised by Maharashtra Cricket Association under the aegis of Indian Cricket Federation for Disabled (ICFD). Altogether 16 teams from across India will be competing in this championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.