Manipur’s ‘dirty dozen’

Yambem Laba
On 26 July 2017, the Supreme Court ruled that state assemblies have no powers to enact legislation to appoint parliamentary secretaries. This led to the disqualification of the Delhi government’s 20 MLAs of the Aam Aadmi Party for holding office of profit as parliamentary secretaries, subsequent to the notices served on them by the Election Commission.
This appears to be having serious repercussions in Manipur where, after the 2017 assembly election, the BJP formed a government with the support of a four-member team from both the Naga People’s Front and the National People’s Party. Since the Tenth Schedule limits the number of cabinet ministers to a dozen, chief minister Nongthombam Biren Singh had to act cautiously.
He gave cabinet berths to four NPF members, one each to the Congress and the JD (U), the NPF, NPP, the Lok Jana Shakti Party and four to the BJP themselves. Since the party was able to garner only 22 seats in the run-up to the last election, it quickly entered a marriage of convenience with almost all non-Congress parties, including an independent MLA. They were flown to Guwahati and kept under duress until a grand alliance was signed.
Okram Ibobi Singh’s Congress citadel began to crumble after four Congress MLAs joined the BJP bandwagon. But the shrewd manipulator that Ibobi is, he kept his cards close to his chest by not invoking the Tenth Schedule and seeking their disqualification. And in the assembly they continued to sit in the opposition bench, although technically, they were to sit in the treasury bench. And in the absence of any formal complaint from the Congress, relating to their disqualification, Speaker Yumnam Khemchand refrained from taking any action against them.
To keep his flock together and in good humour, the chief minister soon fell back on an Ibobi legacy by invoking the Manipur Parliamentary (Appointment, salary, allowances and miscellaneous provisions) Act, 2012. He then distributed portfolios. They were sworn in the conference hall of the chief minister’s complex after then chief secretary Oinam Nabakishore issued due notification on 24 March 2017. Subsequently they assumed office with perks like official cars and security escorts.
The High Courts of Sikkim and Meghalaya had also held the posts of parliamentary secretaries in their respective state assemblies to be unconstitutional.
In the meantime, N Biren Singh had announced during the ongoing budget session that all 12 holding the posts of parliamentary secretaries have resigned.
Actually the die was cast when the state Congress president, TN Haokip, threw a bombshell aimed at the state governor Najma Heptulla. At a media meet he disclosed that his party, as early as last year, had, following the Supreme Court verdict, wrote to the governor requesting her to revoke the Act of 2012 and referred the matter to the Election Commission to decide the fate of the 12 MLAs.
Haokip again wrote to the governor on 25 October 2017 seeking revocation of the 2012 Act and action against the MLAs. But the governor maintained an ominous silence and did not even acknowledge the receipt of the letters. An infuriated Haokip then thundered that they will have no recourse left but to move court over the governor’s inaction for, as per the Article 91 and 92, the governor is the final authority in matters relating to appointment of parliamentary secretaries.
The governor can disqualify the 12 parliamentary secretaries or she may refer the matter to the Election Commission if she chooses to do so .This means that chief minister has no locus standi to announce that the posts of parliamentary secretaries had been abolished since.
Then barely four days after Abhilash Kumari was sworn in as the chief justice of Manipur High Court, she and her companion judge, Justice Kh Nobin, admitted a writ petition filed by two sitting Congress MLAs, namely Surjakumar Okram and DD Thaisii, praying for the annulment of the impugned Manipur Parliamentary Secretary Act 2012.
Subsequently, the Manipur High Court issued notices to the chief secretary and other functionaries of the Manipur government, returnable within four weeks. The queries sought included salaries drawn by the dozen legislators/parliamentary secretaries, other benefits received, offices allotted and vehicles utilised by them; to call for and scrutinise records from the relevant government departments and to pass such an order as deemed fit or give appropriate directives pleaded for in the writ petition.
Speaking to The Statesman, senior counsel for the petitioners, N Ibotombi Singh said that the powers to appoint MLAs, to positions holding the rank of ministers of states or otherwise, is vested with the governor only and that the chief minister’s action was tantamount to that of being an extra-constitutional authority, perhaps with the blessings of the governor herself. The state lacks the authority to make such appointments as has been laid down by the Supreme Court.
This news of the Congress moving the High Court against the governor seems to have perturbed her, who till then, like the chie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.