MP Verma Unity Cup Cricket State team down Bihar by 119 runs

IMPHAL, Apr 7 : The State team got off to a winning start impressively downing hosts Bihar B by 119 runs in the 6th All India Invitation MP Verma Unity Cricket Cup today at the Bihar Electricity Board Cricket ground.
The tournament is being organised by the Bihar Cricket Association under the aegis of BCCI.
Priyojit did the star turn for the State team scoring an impressive 74 runs and bagging one wicket in three overs to bag the man of the match award.
On winning the toss, Bihar B opted to field first and put Manipur in to bat.
Batting first, the State team started cautiously and Priyojit was the midst of the action scoring 74 runs with Mintrachandra keeping him good company with 82 runs.
The other batsmen also chipped in with the bat and in the allotted 40 overs Manipur managed to total 256 runs.
Faced with a mammoth task to scoring 257 runs to notch up a victory, the batsmen of Bihar B lost their way thanks to the wily bowling from the bowlers of the Manipur team.
The innings of Bihar B folded up for 137 runs in 19.1 overs to hand the match to the State team.
Other than Priyojit who scored 74 runs, the other batsmen of Manipur who contributed with the bat included Mintrachandra (82 runs) Homer (21 runs), William (18 runs), Akshaykumar (17 runs).
For Bihar, Imam scalped three wickets, Sashang three wickets and Prabhat one wicket.
Only Jaffer of the Bihar batsmen offered a semblance of a fight scoring 37 runs while the others gifted their wickets to the bowlers of Manipur.
Kennedy of Manipur led the charge bagging three wickets while Sultan and Priyojit chipped in with one wicket each.
Tomorrow Manipur will meet Uttarankhand in the last league match.

Add Comment