NEROCA FC crowned champions of 11th MSL

IMPHAL, Nov 25: Maintaining their unbeaten streak, invincible league leader NEROCA FC, Sangakpham were crowned the 11th Manipur State League 2016 champions as they beat holders AIM, Khabam 4-3 on penalties  in a thrilling summit clash of the league today at Khuman Lampak Main stadium.
The exciting final saw both sides asserting their class. AIM came really close to defending their title but they squandered some chances. In the second half, AIM strikers Kh Satish and N Pritam missed glorious chance in the 53rd minute.
Even as NEROCA FC strikers launched continuous raids and mounted pressure on AIM defence line, the Khabam side defenders stood firm and averted any danger.
Penalty came into play to decide the winners as none of the teams could score in the normal time. AIM conceded to this year Durand Cup finalists NEROCA FC in the penalty. Four of NEROCA players easily converted the penalty kick while only three players of AIM found their target.
L Lokendra Singh, president of All Manipur Sports Association; Kh Joykisan Singh, MLA and S Sanatomba Singh, president of All Manipur Football Association attended the grand finale of the league today as the chief guest, guest of honour and president respectively.
The tournament was sponsored by Khumukcham Ingocha Singh Memorial Trust.
The winners got richer by Rs 2,00,000 while the runners up team got Rs 1,00,000 along with a rolling trophy each. AIM, who also won the Fair Play award, were presented the Daniel Khumukcham memorial trophy (rolling) along with Rs 20,000.
Highest scorer of the tournament award was shared by Th Modhumangol of NACO and N Pritam of AIM. They both scored 13 goals each. They were also presented a rolling trophy in memory of Martin Khumukcham.
Player of the league award was won by NEROCA FC skipper and goalkeeper Lalit Thapa. He received the Jameson Khumukcham memorial trophy along with Rs 20,000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.