LMYVA, Ideal Club, CYLC and ESU post win as 23rd Senior State Basketball kick-starts


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Oct 9: The 23rd edition of Senior State Basketball Championship organised under the aegis of Manipur Basketball Association, began today at Nahabam Basketball Court.
Altogether 10 teams, clubbed in two groups, are participating in the men's category while 4 team will compete in the women's event.
The opening ceremony was attended by Yaiskul MLA, Th Satyabrata Singh and senior vice president of Manipur Olympic Association, Dr GA Ibopishak Sharma as dignitaries.
In the Group A opener of the tournament played in the morning session, LMYVA, Lalambung thumped St Anthony, Chingmeirong by 82-62 points.
John Pao made the most of the scoring with 33 points in his name for  St Anthony but his effort went in vain as Tutu (21), Borish (14), Kemlin (14), Lubert (12), Ozzy (12), Rajesh (4), Arvind (3) and Ronero (2) made a concerted effort to give LMYVA a huge win.
Job earned second highest score of 13 points for the losing side besides Kudu (8), Bocco (7) and Somi (1) getting their names on the scoresheet.
CYLC, Chingamakha secured a 48-36 win over Kakching Basketball Association in the group B league opener as Robertson fetched 20 points, Lenin earned 10 points and James Achom managed 9 points.
S Kabir (4), Joseph Oinam (3) and Nishal Huidrom (2) also scored for the winning side.
Y Binand was the highest scorer for the Kakching side with 17 points in his name while L Arya Meitei and Y Anil contributed 6 points each. L Amarjit added 3 points to the same team while Aschyabarta and K Loyanganba managed 2 points each.
In the  group A league match staged in the evening session, ESU, Wangkhei sealed a 53-40 win over Model Club, Chingamakha while Ideal Club, Tera beat SRWC by 57-48 points in second group B fixture.