NESU emerge champions of M Ibobi Memorial 1st Divn League


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Oct 5: USA, Khurai won 1-0 against NIVSO, Keibi and PRYA, Khundrakpam and SSC, Porompat played out a 1-1 draw at Artificial Turf Football Ground, Khuman Lampak as NESU, Khurai were crowned the champions of the Moirangthem Ibobi Memorial 1st Division Football League Tournament organised by Imphal East District Football Association.
NESU finished on top with 22 points from 7 wins and 1 draw in 9 matches in this league tournament while ESU, Wangkhei managed the second spot with 19 points at the end of the tournament featuring 10 teams.
In today's first match, USA picked up a 1-0 win over NIVSO, thanks to Rahul's goal in the 52nd minute.
Meanwhile, PRYA and SSC split points in the last matches of the league, following a 1-1 draw.
Though Manish Thap opened the account for PRYA in the 10th minute, the lead was cancelled by SSC's Sanajaoba in the following minute to end the match at 1-1 draw. It may be mentioned that PRYA had the chance to earn the 4th place if they had beaten SSC in the match.