State Ranking TT C'ship: Rohit wins men's singles title, Thajamanbi claims women's


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Oct 6 : Rohit claimed the men's singles title while Thajamanbi was crowned the women's singles champ at the 7th State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament organised by District Table Tennis Association Imphal East at Indoor Stadium, DM College Campus.
Karam Rohit bagged the men's singles title today with an easy 11-8, 11-2, 11-4, 11-7 win against Y Subashchandra in an all Imphal West final clash while MPSC's Thajamanbi earned the women's singles title with a comfortable 11-5, 11-6, 11-6, 13-11 win against M Bindya of Imphal West in the final today.
AG's pair of Th Dharmendra and Ksh Vikash were able to seal the men's double title today. The pair defeated MPSC's Th Deepak and L Vikram pair 14-12, 5-11, 11-5, 11-5 in the final match to lay their hands on the title.
Cadet boys' singles title of the competition was claimed by H Yaiphaba of Thoubal following his 11-9, 11-8, 5-11, 13-11 triumph against W Thoungamba from the same district in the final staged today.
The day also saw A Birla of Imphal East claim the junior boys' singles title with a hard fought 9-11, 12-10, 7-11, 1-8, 5-11, 11-8, 11-7 win against N Colman of Imphal West in the final.
The closing ceremony of the championship participated by athletes representing AG, MPSC, Imphal East, Imphal West, Thoubal, Kakching and Bishnupur districts was attended by M Jay Singh, IAS-Commissioner MAHUD and Agriculture; Mangshatabam Gojendro, president, District Table Tennis Association Imphal East; Hidangmayum Devkishor Sharma, Retd IAS and president of  Manipur Table Tennis Association and Arun Thangjam, president, NEROCA FC as dignitaries who also handed out prizes to the athletes.