35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo X Polo Club drub MPSC-B 5-1 to become champions


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 18 : X Polo Club, Wangkhei were crowned the champions of the 35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo Tournament organised by Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association after beating Manipur Police Sports Club-B by 5-1 goals in the final match  at Mapal Kangjeibung today.
Both the finalists were locked at 1-1 till the halfway of the match but X Polo Club surged ahead with two more goals in the third chukker before adding another two goals in the last chukker to complete the 5-1 rout. L Atangba took centre-stage of the final match  scoring three goals alone coming up in the first, third and the fourth chukker of this one sided encounter while the other goals were scored by P Ojit in the third chukker and Th Jacob in the last chukker. The lone goal for MPSC-B was scored by T Pradeepkumar in the second chukker after L Atangba had opened up the scoring for the winning side.
Winners, X Polo Club were feted with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 along with a trophy during the valedictory function which was graced by Karam Shyam Singh, Minister CAF and PD; H Deleep Singh, IAS, president Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association; Dr H Chaoba Singh, Director Veterinary and Animal Husbandry Services and N Sanatombi Devi as distinguished guests.  Runners up, MPSC-B were also feted with a cash prize of Rs 40,000 along with trophy and Samurou Polo Club-A were adjudged best discipline team  and a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and a trophy sponsored by United Veteran Football Association. Altogether 34 teams took part in this tournament organised in knock-out basis.