35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo: Tentha PC, Khurai PC and Chingkheihunba PC-A win to move into last 16 round

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 3 : The last 16 line of the 35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo Tournament was completed with Tentha Polo Club, Khurai Polo Club and Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A registering dominating wins against their respectively rivals at Mapal Kangeibung (Imphal Pologround) today.
In the first match of the day, Tentha Polo Club saw off K&MM Riding School-C, Singjamei by 9-0 goals as B Herojit Sharma, T Bishorjit and S Priyo were in prolific form today.
B Herojit opened up the scoring account for the winning side and made it 1-0 in the first chukker before adding twice in the third chukker. T Bishorjit and S Priyo consolidated a goal each in the second chukker making it 3-0 for their team till the break.
T Bishorjit scored a single in the third chukker before completing his treble in the last chukker while E Amarjit chipped in a single before S Priyo completed his double and rounded off the scoring.
In the second match, Khurai Polo Club held off Thoubal Disrict Polo Association 9-5 to set up pre quarter final clash with Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A which decimated KRYPHSA Polo Team-B by 17-1 in the last match of the day.
Khurai Polo Club made a brilliant start to the game with S Jamson scoring thrice and O Chinglen adding a single to make it 4-0 in the first chukker before their team mate A Ranjan extended the lead by scoring two goals in the second chukker. S Jamson made his way back in the third chukker to seal hit his fourth goal of the match before O Chinglen and Th Nanao grabbed a goal each to make a total of 9 goals. The chukker also saw Th Kabita of the Thoubal side adding a goal.
The fourth chukker saw Thoubal District Polo Association made all out attack and added 4 goals, three by Y Dhijan and a single by O Samarjit. However their comeback proved too late and eventually the Khurai side made it through to the last 16 round.
In the last match, A Basanta topscored with 9 goals in his name and L Thomson grabbed 4 goals to hand Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A a commanding 17-1 win against KYRPHSA-B.
A Basanta and L Thomson added a goal each in the opening chukker to put Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A 2-0 ahead. Leishemba Takhellambam opened up the scoring in the second chukker before A Basanta unleashed his impressive side and chipped in 6 goals without any interruption to ensure his team a 9-0 lead till halfway as KRYPHSA-B were hardly able to connect their mallets with the ball.
L Olendro and A Basanta scored two goals each  while Leishemba added a single in the third chukker to make it 14-1 as L Olympus grabbed a consolation goal for KRYPHSA-B. The last chukker saw L Thomson take the honour to swing home the ball thrice and capped the 17-1 demolition of the Naoremthong team.