35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo: MPSC teams run riot to cruise into quarter finals


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 5 : MPSC-A, MPSC-B and MPSC-C all made their way through to the quarter finals of the ongoing 35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo Tournament with wins against their respectively rivals today at Mapal Kangjeibung.
In the first match of the day, MPSC-A outshone AR Polo Team by 7-2 goals to set up quarter final date with K&MM Riding School-A.
S Bimol opened up the scoring for MPSC-A in the first chukker but Kh Sushilo helped AR Polo team draw level and made it 1-1 at the end of the first chukker. The second chukker however saw MPSC-A race ahead with four more goals, two scored by S Bimol and one each by T Roshan and Y Binoy.
T Roshan and S Bimol scored a goal each in the third chukker to make it 7-1 as AR Polo team failed to convert their chances.
Riyakat Ali was the lone scorer in the last chukker as MPSC-A eased into the last 8 stage with 7-2 win even though they drew blank in the last chukker.
Meanwhile in the second match, MPSC-B ran riot from the opening chukker onwards with H Abung leading the attack to demolish CRPF Polo Team 19-2. H Abung handed MPSC a 6-0 lead in the opening chukker scoring all the goals alone before pumping in three more goals in the latter periods to complete his haul of 9 goals.
Kh Saratkanta, T Pradeepkumar and Kh Nongpoknganba chipped in two goals each besides O Suresh adding a goal to make it 13-1 for MPSC-B at the end of the second chukker. The opening goal for the CRPF team was scored by Shelungba.
MPSC-B onslaught continued in the third chukker as Th Romen fired home once before O Suresh added twice and completed his treble while Abung scored his 7th goal before adding twice in the last chukker to wrap up the game 19-2. The last chukker also saw M Rupen finding the target for the losing side.
Elsewhere in the last match, MPSC-A earned a hard fought 4-3 win against Tekcham Polo Club to set up quarter final clash with MPSC-B. All the four goals for MPSC-C was scored by Th Ranjit, twice in the opening chukker and twice in the last chukker. Meanwhile the goals for the Tekcham team were scored by M Kuber (1) and S Sadananda (2).