65th NSG U-14 Boys Football: West Bengal, Jharkhand, Manipur and Uttar Pradesh reach semifinal


By Our Sports Reporter
Imphal, Nov 7: West Bengal edged past Assam 1-0 in the first quarterfinal and became the first team to reach semifinal while Jharkhand defeated NVS 4-1 in the kick from penalty mark in the second quarterfinal whereas Manipur blanked Haryana 3-0 in the third quarterfinal to enter the semifinal while Uttar Pradesh thrashed Tripura 4-0 in the last quarterfinal to book a place in the semifinal of the ongoing 65th National School Games U-14 Boys Football Tournament which is underway at Khuman Lampak Sports Complex organized by Department of Youth Affairs & Sports under the aegis of School Games Federation of India since November 4 with the participation of 32 teams from different States.
In the first quarterfinal, West Bengal had a narrow 1-0 win over Assam courtesy to Abhijit who scored the winning goal in the 47th minute of the match while in the second quarterfinal match, Jharkhand and NVS could not produce a single goal in the normal time and as a result the match was dragged to kick from penalty mark to decide the winner.
Vikas, Jitender, Abhinash and Sunil scored one goal each for Jharkhand in the kick from penalty mark to defeat NVS by 4-1 goals while Tobom was the only successful goal scorer for NVS.
In the third quarterfinal match, Manipur hammered Haryana by 3-0 goals to canter though to semifinal.
Y Monish scored two goals in the 4th and 45th minute of the match while Jemson added another goal in the 48th minute.
In the last quarterfinal match, Uttar Pradesh defeated Tripura by 4-0 goals to storm into  the semifinal.
Swaghat (13'), Farooque (39', 58') and Tauseef (53') were the goals scorers for Uttar Pradesh.
Earlier in the pre-quarterfinal matches, Manipur defeated Bihar by 1-0 goals thanks to Y Monish who handed the quarterfinal goal for his team in the 39th minute.
The match between Delhi and Chandigarh in the 2nd pre-quarterfinal match was decided in the kick from penalty mark as both the team failed to find that one winning shot in the regulation time.
In the decider, Chandigarh held on to their nerves to defeat Delhi by 5-3 goals.
Sarathak Aswal, Gurnaj, Arveend, Mukul and Lanchenba were the successful goal scorers for Chandigarh while Chandra, Sidhash, Kartick were successful goal scorers for Delhi.
In the third pre-quarterfinal match, Tripura sailed through to quarterfinal defeating Chhattisgarh by 2-1 goals.
Biru Debbarman scored for Tripura in the 47th minute while Bukhu Dayal added the second goal in the 52nd minute.
For Chhattisgarh, Rahul Kumar scored the single in the 50th minute.
In the fourth pre-quarterfinal match, Uttar Pradesh decimated Jammu & Kashmir by 8-1 goals.
Tauseef (4', 17', 43', 48'), Farooque (29', 48', 57') and Bhasker (59') were goal scorers for Uttar Pradesh while Shazan was the only goal scorer for Jammu & Kashmir.
Assam defeated IPSC by a huge margin of 9-0 goals in the 5th pre-quarterfinal.
Bharger (7'), Chintu (9'), Vivek Boro (20', 25'), Jayanta Boro (23', 45'), Manab Das (49'), Krishananu (52') and Bibhan (58') were goal scorers for Assam.
In the sixth pre-quarterfinal match, West Bengal downed Madhya Pradesh by 6-3 goals. For West Bengal, Aditya Das (6'), Abhijit Berman (8', 34') and Subhajit Maji (46', 60') were the successful goal scorers while A Paswash scored all the three goals for Madhya Pradesh in the 3rd, 18th and 33rd minute of the match.
NVS beat Haryana by 4-0 goals in the 7th pre-quarterfinal match to seal a place in the quarterfinal. The goals were scored by Robanta (10'), L Vaiphei (47') and S David (57', 66') while in the last pre-quarterfinal match, Jharkhand stormed into the quarterfinal defeating Rajasthan by 2-0 goals. Akshana scored both the goals in the 6th and 29th minute. Winners of the 1st and 2nd semifinals, which will be played in the morning tomorrow, will battle it out in the final match to be played at 1 pm.
Dr Harmit Singh Pahuja (IAS), Director Youth Affairs & Sports; Kh Pramoda Devi, Jt Director Youth Affairs & Sports; L Jayantakumar Singh, Jt Director Youth Affairs & Sports and Kanhaiya Gujjar, Observer School Games Federation of India will grace the closing function tomorrow as dignitaries.