N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo: X-Polo Club and K & MM Riding-A enter semifinal


By Our Sports Reporter
Imphal, Nov 7: X-Polo Club, Wangkhei outplayed Chingkheihunba Polo Club-B, Kongpal 12-1 in the first quarterfinal while K & MM Riding School-A, Singjamei beat Manipur Police Sports Club-A by 6-5 goals in the second quarterfinal to book a place in the semifinal of the 35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo Tournament organized by Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association at  Mapal Kangjeibung today.
In the first quarterfinal match, X-Polo Club Wangkhei displayed a towering performance against Chingkheihunba Polo Club-B in this one-sided match.
X-Polo Club surged ahead with 2-0 goals in the first chukker and continued to lead in the second chukker by 2-1 goals. In the third chukker, X-Polo Club scored another 4 goals to  extend the lead to 8-1 goals. It again scored 4 more goals in the fourth chukker to take away  the match with 12-1 goals.
L Atangba and Th Jacob scored one goal each in the first chukker for X-Polo Club while P Ojit and Th Jacob added one goal each in the second chukker. In the third chukker, L Atangba scored 3 goals and Th Jacob scored 1 goal while in the last chukker, L Atangba added one goal and P Ojit scored 2 goals and L Tolongkhomba added one goal.
The sole goal of Chingkheihunba Polo Club-B was scored by L Kokeshwar in the second chukker.
In the second quarterfinal match, both the team - K & MM Riding School-A, Singjamei and Manipur Police Sports Club-A competed fiercely in the field and as a result, one extra chukker was added to pick the winner as both team scored 5-5 goals at the end of the last chukker.
However, K & MM Riding School-A, Singjamei seized the opportunity in the extra chukker to emerge victorious by 6-5 goals.
In the first chukker, both the team scored one goal each and in a similar way, they scored 1-1 goal in the second chukker.
The third chukker also saw 2-2 goals followed by 1-1 goals in the last chukker.
Manipur Police Sports Club-B will meet Manipur Police Sports Club-C in the third quarter final match tomorrow at 1.30 pm while Imphal Riding Club-A will lock horn with  Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A in the last quarterfinal match at 2.30 pm.