Digital crown on Bpr dist

Our Correspondent
BISHNUPUR, Nov 8 : As part of the Digital India campaign of the Central Government, Bishnupur district has been given the Digital Transformation Award 2019 for adopting digital payment across various sectors.
The district was named as the winner of the award among 300 competitors, reports our correspondent.
The award was handed over to Bishnupur DC Neeta Arambam during a ceremony organised by Governance Now under the support of Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Smart City Mission, Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, GoI and Ministry of Power, at Hotel Lalit, Delhi on November 6.
It can be recalled that the district also received the Apollo Telemedicine Award 2017, from among 14 districts of the country, apart from also receiving the Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Public Administration under promotion of digital payments.
Speaking to media persons, the DC said that the award has been given to Bishnupur as part of the Prime Minister's initiative of Cashless Digital India and under the category of adopting digital payment across various sectors.
She then informed that the number of persons using debit cards in the district increased by 47 percent from 71834 in 2017 to 1,05,233 in 2019.
She then informed that there was a 33 percent reduction in cash outflow i.e. Rs 12.39 crore outflow reduced to Rs 8.9 crore and around 20 fair price shops and 4 fertilizer agents along with CSCs in the district have started adopting digital payment.
The DC mentioned that Karang island under Bishnupur has become a cashless island and BHIM app has been installed and utilised in every household at Thanin village.
Other platforms of digital payment include payment for electricity bill, housing scheme etc, she added.
After becoming a cashless island, the number of tourists visiting the island has increased thus improving the employment prospect as well, she informed.
She lauded all the departments, CSCs and individuals concerned for their hard work and efforts which enabled the district to clinch the award.