XI M Tomba and Shankar Memorial TT C'shipY Subhaschandra wins 40+ men's singles title


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, May 12 : Y Subhaschandra claimed the title of 40+ men's singles title at the XI Mutum Tomba and Mutum Shankar Memorial Table Tennis Championship organised at Indoor Stadium, DM College Campus, Imphal West under the aegis of Manipur Veteran Table Tennis Association.
Y Subhaschandra who overcame W Sanjeet to reach final yesterday, managed a 11-9, 11-2, 9-11, 11-5 win against N Biren to claimed the title of the said age group.
N Biren yesterday earned a 11-5, 11-8, 11-8 win against M Iboton to reach the final. M Iboton finished third in the competition with a convincing 11-0, 11-0, 11-0 win against W Sanjeet yesterday.
Men's Singles 50+
The Men's singles title for the above 50 years went to S Chandra after a 11-4, 11-2, 11-7 thrashing of Th Rajendro in the final staged today. S Chandra sealed a place in the final with a 3-1 sets win against M Noren yesterday while Th Rajendra booked the final berth with a straight sets win against Ch Loken Meitei.
Ch Loken was however able to finish third in this age group beating M Noren in straight sets.
Men's doubles 40+
Ch Marjit and N Biren were crowned the champions of men's doubles for above 40 years after a 3-1 sets win against Y Subashchandra and Dr M Shubhakanta in the final today. Ch Marjit and N Biren slipped in the third set after a big start but managed a strong comeback to finish the game 16-14, 11-8, 6-11, 11-1 and rightfully claimed the title.
Ch Marjit and N Biren reached the final beating W Sanjeet and N Rajesh pair by 3-1 sets while Y Subashchandra and Dr M Shubhakanta earned their place in the final with a straight sets win against Binod M and Kh Pramesh in another semi-final match staged yesterday.
Men's Doubles 50+
M Noren and S Chandra were able to lift the title for above 50 years men's doubles title with a 11-9, 11-4, 8-11, 13-11 win against T Nirmal and Th Rajendro pair in the final staged today.
Kh Rajendro and Ch Loken Meitei finished third for this age category after beating fellow semifinalists Ibochouba Sapam and Radhakrishnan Ch by 3-0 sets yesterday.
It may be mentioned that Ch Biren claimed the above 60 years men's singles title at the tournament beating H Brajamani in the final while L Mohindro finished third in this age category. K Kumar was also able to clinched the third place title in the above 65 years men's singles event. Women's singles open title went to S Ashalata who beat N Sushila in the final while K Ibeyaima finished third in this event.
Ng Brajakumar and H Rajendra also emerged the champions of Men's doubles title for above 60 years category yesterday beating K Kumar and G Prafulla by 3-2 sets in the final while S Ashalata and Dr M Shubhakanta were crowned mix doubles champs beating W Premila and M Iboton in straight sets yesterday.
N Sushila and S Chandra finished third in the mix doubles event at the said championship.
The closing ceremony of the tournament was graced by A Jadumani, Coordinator, Sports Authority of India (Retd) and O Digendra Singh, president, Manipur Veteran Table Tennis Association as dignitaries who also feted the winners, runners ups and third placed players of various events and age categories.