YUC lift 1st MCA U-16 Boys N Rajningthou Memorial Trophy with 8 run win against Al-Ameen


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, May 12 : Sanjit hit a half century to help YUC, Kwakeithel Moirangpurel Leikai beat Al Ameen, Lilong by 8 runs and clinched the title of the 1st MCA Under 16 boys Naorem Rajningthou Singh Memorial Trophy at Heinoupok Ground today.
YUC which won the toss piled up 169 runs for 9 in 30 overs riding on 72-ball 78 from Sanjit in the first innings and held Al-Ameen for 161 runs in the second innings to earn the title. Devraj and Thoungamba also managed 12 runs each in this innings while the other batsmen could not put up a good show.
Aziz, Zamir and Waqar of Al-Ameen claimed two wickets each in the first innings while Wakil had a single wicket in his name.
Wakil gave Al-Ameen a bright start in the chase but went out for 49 runs in 32 balls. YUC bowlers led by Thoungamba then tighten their grip after Wakil's departure and disallowed Al-Ameen batsmen from building up any momentum.
Alfash and Waqar did their best to gather 18 and 15 runs each in the latter part of the innings to put some pressure on YUC bowlers while Sagir finished with 13 runs in 11 balls before the team were all out at 161 runs in 29.2 overs.
Thoungamba end with best figure of 3-37 in his 4.2 overs spell while Sanjit was most economical as he managed 1 wicket for 13 runs in 6 overs. Devraj also picked up 2 wickets giving 37 runs in 5 overs he was allotted.
The winners were feted with a trophy and a cash prize of Rs 10,000 during the closing the ceremony which was attended by RK Rameshwar Singh, Managing Director, RK Fortune Developers Pvt Ltd, Imphal; RK Imo, president, Manipur Cricket Association; Chongtham Chaoba Singh, vice president, Manipur Cricket Association; Hodam Gyaneshwar, International Badminton Referee; N Ibobi Singh, Retd, Principal, Gulap Higher Secondary; Nongthombam Ranbir Singh and Naorem Iboton Singh, Retd Dean, CAU as dignitaries. The runners up team were handed a trophy and a cash prize of Rs 5,000 while best disciplined team, CYCLONE were awarded a cash prize of Rs 1,000.
Man of the final match, Sanjit of YUC, Kwakeithel was also feted with Rs 1,000; while  Ph Jotin of PTRC, Patsoi bagged the man of the series and highest wicket taker awards worth Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 respectively before claiming highest run scorer prize worth Rs 500 along with a trophy. Man of the semi-final matches, YUC's Khedajit and Al Ameen's Pravez were also feted with Rs 500 each.