Jiribam Police retain Y Kesho Memorial Volleyball tourney title


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, May 17 : Jiribam Police beat KYLSC, Kachikhun by 3-1 sets to retain the title of Y Kesho Singh Memorial Volleyball Tournament organised by All Jiribam Sports Association under the aegis of All Manipur Volleyball Association at Jiribam Higher Secondary Playground.
Jiribam Police conceded the second set after a good start and bounced back in the following sets to finish the game 25-17, 21-25, 25-21, 25-18 and successfully defend the title.
The closing ceremony of the 9th edition of the tournament which featured a total of 9 teams, was graced by Robert Singh Kshetrimayum, DC, Jiribam; Moirangthem Brajakanta Singh, president, AJSA; Heisnam Basulal, Addl SP (LO) Jiribam Police and AK Sadananda Singh, Addl SP (Ops), Jiribam Police as dignitaries who also feted the winners, runners up and other individual and team prize winners.
Jiribam Police's Inaoba, Parsuram, Michael emerged best setter, best defender and best blocker of the tournament respectively while Santosh of KYLSC bagged the best spiker title. They were feted by dignitaries along with the winners and runners up.
Mention may be made that the tournament is sponsored by Deputy Chief Minister Yumnam Joykumar in fond memory of his late father Yumnam Kesho Singh.