21st Challenge Cup UVSA-T edge past IEVSA 4-2, CYCLONE-B thrash FCYVA


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, May 17 : UVSA-T (Thangal), Lilong Chajing completed treble in the 21st Challenge Cup Veteran Football Tournament 2019 being organised by Manipur Veteran Football Association, Mapal Kangjeibung with a 4-2 win against IEVSA in their last Group C fixture today at Mapal Kangjeibung while CYCLONE-B finished their Group C league campaign with a 8-1 thrashing of FCYVA, Yumnam Khunou latter at the same venue.
In the first match of the day, IEVSA were very positive of registering their second win as they led the first half 2-1 with M Biken hitting a brace (9', 21') including the opener but UVSA-T surged ahead in the second half with three more goals to overturn the lead as Hemjit and Noren managed two goals each and clinched their third successive win at the tournament.
UVSA-T opened up their account in the 27th minute through Hemjit after trailing by 2 goals earlier to make it 1-2 at the end of the break and it was Noren who drew level in the 37th minute before Hemjit struck his second to put UVSA in the front foot.
There was no looking back for UVSA-T after having the lead as their midfielders and forwards worked in tandem to breach the hardly resisting IEVSA on multiple occasions. Their consistent effort helped them take a two goal lead in the 55th minute as Noren did well to crack a powerful. IEVSA tried hard to make a comeback latter on but time slipped out of their hands favouring the Chajing side to seal all three points.
Meanwhile in the second Group C league match, CYCLONE-B, Thangmeiband had an easy outing as Kh Rajesh and Th Sivdutta scored three goals each to set up a huge 8-1 win against FCYVA. Kh Rajesh gave CYCLONE-B the much anticipated lead in the 28th minute and grabbed to more goals latter in the 50th and the 58th minute while Th Sivdutta struck his first in the 30th minute before completing his treble with goals coming up at the 40th and the 45th minute. The other two goals came from the feet of Th Shashikumar and A De respectively in the 46th and the 56th minute before Ng Tiken of FCYVA grabbed a consolation goal at the stroke of hour mark.