27th State Youth Basketball Championship YPHU to meet Youth Club in boys' final


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, May 18 : YPHU, Lalambung will lock horns with Youth Club, Uripok for the boys' title of Late Sapam Ongbi Surjalata Devi Memorial 27th State Youth Basketball Championships, 2019 jointly organised by Model Club and Manipur Basketball Association at basketball court of Model Club at Chingamakha.
YPHU defeated ESU, Nahabam by 48-35 points to book their final berth today while Youth Club overcame BSC 52-46 to complete the final line up in another semi-final clash.
YPHU and ESU were evenly poised till the first two quarters but the former team surged ahead in the remainder of the game to ensure their place in the final. Krishna Cherry of YPHU made the most of the scoring with 20 points in his name while Tanson and M Lanchenba fetched 11 and 10 points each.
L Nihas and Jetli also gathered 4 and 3 points each to make it 48 points for YPHU at the end.
W Romen (12), Th Newton (6), H Rishikanta (6), Kh Mocha (4), A Barun (3), GA Shubraj (2), Khelson (2) were the scorers for ESU.
Meanwhile in the second semi-final match, Youth Club stated their intensity right from the beginning of the match and managed 52 points with the help of Th Harsh (13), Y Bipin (12), RK Bishwanath (11), N Ravan (8), RK Devraj (6) and N Sushil (2).
BSC on the other hand could managed 46 points through Th Ronaldo (22), Ch Igo (9), Chirstco (9), Athili (4) and Y Chanba (2).