Youth Club Uripok win boys' title at 27th State Youth Basketball Championship


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, May 19 : Youth Club Uripok beat YPHU, Lalambung 47-46 in a closely fought final match to win the boys' title of the Late Sapam Ongbi Surjalata Devi Memorial 27th State Youth Basketball Championships, 2019 jointly organised by Model Club and Manipur Basketball Association at Basketball Court of Model Club at Chingamakha today.
Youth Club led the first three quarters 15-6, 26-16 and 35-26 and survived YPHU's late surge to finish the game 47-46 to rightfully claim the title trophy and a cash prize of Rs 10,000. 
RK Bishwanath, Th Harsh and Y Bipin took the centre-stage for the winning side by scoring 14 points each while Devaraj and N Pravin managed 3 and 2 pts respectively to make it a total of 47 points. YPHU's Krishnach-ary made the highest 21 points in this match but their collective effort fell short by just 1 point from drawing level.
The other scorers for the team were Tanson Kh (16), Jetli (4), Ch Khagemba (3) and M Lanchenba (2).  YPHU were awarded a trophy and a cash prize of Rs 5,000.  Tanson Kh who fetched a total of 90 points throughout the championship was named best scorer.
Winners of girls championship, ESU and runners up Model Club were also feted with Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000 respectively during the closing ceremony.