Suspense reigns high as vote count begins today

By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, May 22: With vote counting for both Inner and Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituencies set to begin tomorrow, it is being predicted that in Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, Lorho S Pfoze (NPF), Benjamin Mate (BJP), K James (Congress), Ashang Kasar (NEIDP) and Thangminlien Kipgen (NPP) will score high number of votes.
However, if the voting pattern and voter turnout figures are analysed, some are even claiming that the real fight will be between the NPF candidate and the BJP candidate. According to numerous political analysts, the voter turn out for 41-Chandel, 42-Tengnoupal, 43-Phungyar, 44-Ukhrul, 47-Karong, 48-Mao, 49-Tadubi, 51-Saitu, 52-Tamei recorded a total voter turnout of 90 percent.
The said 8 Constituencies  have a total number of 3,71,279 voters and even if all of them did not vote for NPF, it is being calculated that most of the votes might go to the party.
The total number of voters for Thoubal/Kakching district  Constituencies is 1,62,987 and even though, most of the people voted for the then ruling party INC, it is being estimated that a large number of the vote will got to NPF as well. BJP will also score a good number of votes as will the Congress, as per the analysts.
If the predicted pattern turns out to be true, NPF might become a force to reckon with. However, both the BJP and the Congress are also standing firm in the belief that they will win the election.
It may be mentioned that  58-Churachandpur (53.62 pc), 37-Kakching (68.16 pc) and 40-Jiribam (68.21 pc) had some of the lowest voter turnout figures in the recent election and the over all voter turnout for the Outer election, was 84.21 pc.
On the other hand, in the Inner Parliamentary Constituency, the most prominent candidates with the probability of getting the most number of votes are Dr RK Ranjan (BJP), Dr M Nara (CPI), O Nabakishore (INC), RK Anand (NEIDP) and RK Somorendro alias Kaiku (Independent).
It is being predicted that even though Congress led other parties in 21 Constituencies in the 16th Lok Sabha election, this time, BJP will have an upper hand in Khurai, Kshetrigao, Keirao, Andro, Lamlai, Sekmai, Lamshang, Mayang Imphal, Oinam, Moirang, Kumbi etc.
Over and above this, five former MLAs of the Congress even joined NEIDP recently, which has made analysts think that more than 40,000/50,000 votes from Khurai, Konthoujam, Naoriya Pakhanglakpa and Oinam ACs will go to NEIDP.
Many political parties regard Tiddim line as a significant vote bank. However, as the area mostly have  BJP supporters and MLAs who have defected to BJP, it is being estimated that  BJP might take the lead in this region.
In Bishnupur Constituency, the imposing presence of MLA Govindas Konthoujam ensure that Congress will score higher votes than BJP although experts predict that BJP and Congress might be equally matched in Nambol AC.
On the other hand, many political analysts are predicting that the BJP's assurance to implement CAB in the past as well as its recent inclusion in the party manifesto, will turn out to be a big minus point for the party.
The experts continued that for the Inner election, the showdown will be most probably between Dr RK Ranjan (BJP) and O Nabakishore (INC).
However, Dr M Nara (CPI) cannot be pushed aside just yet as he is regarded in high esteem by a large number of people and he might secure a large number of votes.
Some are of the belief that Dr Nara may even win due to the love of the people, as per the political analysts who opined that if this indeed turns out to be true, it will be a huge change for the State and it will show that votes cannot be bought by money anymore.