Dr RK Ranjan, Lorho Pfoze lead


By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, May 23: BJP’s Dr RK Ranjan and NPF’s Lorho S Pfoze are leading over their rival candidates in Inner Manipur PC and Outer Manipur PC respectively.
Counting of votes polled in the two Parliamentary Constituencies started from 8 am today amidst tight security at 11 district headquarters. The counting is continuing till the time of filing this report late in the evening today.
Till the time of filing this report, Dr RK Ranjan secured 2,45,029 votes against 2,22,014 votes received by INC’s O Nabakishore.
CPI’s Dr M Nara is running behind Dr Ranjan and O Nabakishore with 1,22,255 votes.
Film actor and independent candidate RK Somendro (Kaiku) occupies fourth position with 74,552 votes followed by NEIDP’s RK Anand (24,193), MPP’s O Jugindro (1689), Independent candidate Wahengbam Pabitra (1340), MDPF’s Dr G Tonsana Sharma (1095), Independent candidate M Totomsana (883), RJSP’s Senjam Nandeshore (687) and Independent candidate Md Illiyas Khan (448).
In Outer Manipur PC, NPF’s Lorho S Pfoze is leading his rivals with a huge margin.
So far, he has garnered 3,61,210 votes against 2,78,093 votes  secured by BJP’s Houlim Sokhopao Mate alias Benjamin who is his closest rival.
INC K James is trailing in the third place with 1,38,350 votes followed by NPP’s Thangminlen Kipgen (27,509), NEIDP’s Asang Kasar (11,368), NCP’s Angam Karung Kom (2068), JD-U’s Hangkhanpau Taithul (2633) and Independent candidate Leikhan Kaipu (857).     
It was Heingang AC, Andro AC and Thongju which put Dr RK Ranjan in a commanding position as he secured far greater number of votes in these three Assembly segments.
Dr Ranjan secured a whopping 20,176 votes in Heingang AC, 13,764 votes in Thongju AC and 16,509 votes in Andro AC. His nearest rival O Nabakishore got 4526 votes in Heingang AC, 4534 in Thongju AC and 9832 in Andro AC.