RK Apollosana extends winning run at Ramnarayan Memorial Chess tourney


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jun 24 : Top seed RK Apollosana and 13 others managed to post second consecutive wins at the ongoing 4th Khuraijam Ramnarayan Shastree Memorial State Level Open Chess Tournament being organised by Juvenile Club,  Tera Sapam Leirak at its auditorium under the aegis of Manipur Chess Association.
The second day of the tournament participated by 76 players saw, RK Apollosana seal another point by beating S Dhanachandra. RK Bhogen also got the better of N Pari, who post first round win yesterday, to added one more points to his tally before A Chakritombi did the same against N Brojen. The other players who post consecutive round wins today are Th Gobin, O Ningthem, A Harimohan, G Inao, K Poireikhomba, K Saveson, E Shashi, L Dorendrajit, T Somorendro, H Somokanta and N Yohenba.
H Jacky and A Binit who earn first round win yesterday ended up with a draw today to settle for 1/2 points each today. The matches between Th Nabachandra and H Maniton, Kh Premchandra and H Ibochouba, A Kishorechandra and RK Ningthem and Bit Irom and Kh Rocky also saw the pairs share points to make it 1+1/2 points each.
A Shyamkishore who drew blank in the opening round yesterday opened up his account today after he was awarded a walk-over. G Arosemit also earned first full point today beating Jalesh Th today in a second round clash before M Omorendro beat Dayanand Th to open his account. The other players who earned their first win in the round 2 clashes are M Ranjan, Alex Kh, L Devitchand, S Komol, L Shyamkishore, Kh Einstein, M Yohenba, Sanjit M, Hemraj L, O Kishorjit, M Rana, E Jackson, RK Lenin, N Bobo, S Priyokumar and A Kevin.