YDO, MPSC emerge victorious in IW Super Division League


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jul 15 : YDO Konjeng Lamdong Leikai and MPSC, 1st MR earned 1-0 win against their respective rivals in today's league matches at Football Turf Ground, Khuman Lampak in the ongoing 20th Sougaijam Birendra Singh Memorial Super Division League Football Tournament 2019 organised by Imphal West District Football Association.
The first match of the day played between YDO and BMSC, Taobung was a neck to neck competition as both teams shared almost equal possession and attempts but a goal by Th Rahul Singh early in the 8th minute was more than enough for the Konjeng Lamdong Leikai side to earn all three points.
And in a rare case, the assistant team manager of YDO, M Kumar was yellow carded in the 56th minute in a bid to control the game following his harsh words targeting the match officials.
M Royal (52') and Ch Chinglen (60') of YDO were yellow carded by the referee for their unsportsmanlike behaviour.
The second match played between MPSC and SKYC, Awang Sekmai was also evenly poised but a goal was more than enough to split the game.
Both MPSC and SKYC started the game on a cautious note but the experienced MPSC earned the winner in the 24th minute when Mangkholen saw his distant shot go into the SKYC net. SKYC also few close calls on counter attacks but their attempts were denied as MPSC defence line were up to their task every time they advances. MPSC's Bishwajit (49'), Newton (55') and SKYC's Umakanta (56') were yellow carded by the referee.
YWC, Langthabal will take on BMSC, Taobungkhok in the fourth league match of the tournament on July at Football Turf Ground Khuman Lampak at 1.30 pm while MPSC will meet CHIKL, Chajing latter at 3.15 pm.