KHFA continue to lead at 15th Governor's Cup Fencing


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jul 30 : Khongman Fencing Academy (KHFA), with 8 gold, 6 silver and 11 bronze medals, have set their sight on the overall team title at the 15th Governor's Cup State Level Fencing Championship. Imphal West continue to follow closely with 7 gold, 3 silver and 8 bronze medals in their haul.
The valedictory function of the championship will be held tomorrow at Fencing Hall Khuman Lampak at 3 pm in the presence of Y Khemchand, Speaker Manipur Legislative Assembly; Th Joykumar Singh, president, Manipur Fencing Association; Sunil Elangbam, secretary Manipur Olympic Association and L Ibomcha Singh, National Boxing coach as dignitaries.
The day saw SAIRC earn three gold medals while IW and KHFA win 2 and 1 gold medal respectively.
SAIRC's S Hemash won a gold medal in the sub-junior boys' foil event beating UPAA's Loyumba H while K Abinash of SAIRC and N Roshan of UPAA got the bronze medals.
IW's P Thomba won the epee gold in the sub-junior boys epee event after his victory against KHFA's NK Tondonsana in the final. SAIRC's K Ramakanta and IW's G Jasobanta got the bronze medals of this event.
Maxi Th of SAIRC beat his compatriot A Thoinao to win the sabre gold of the same age group while SLLC's A Kuku and RSC's N Denison had to settle for the bronze medals after their semi-final defeats.
KHFA bagged the only gold medal of the day through Velentina Th who beat Menaka of SLLC in the foil final for sub-junior girls while H Bala of UPAA and Geeti L of KHFA grabbed the bronze medals.
The epee title for sub-junior girls went to IW's Nancyrose who dumped N Anjali of UPAA in the final. SAIRC's Anjalika and UPAA's L Chinglembi had to contend with the bronze medals in this event.
S Fiona of UPAA bagged the sub-junior girls' sabre gold  after beating N Nancy of KHFA. N Anedy of KHSC and P Ambika of SLLC were able to claim the bronze medals in this event.
The day also saw N Manish of KHSC win the epee gold for cadet boys after beating K Kane of SAIRC in the final.