MPSC thump BMSC 3-0 to win Imphal West Super Division League title


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jul 31 : Manipur Polce Sports Club (MPSC) eased past BMSC, Taobungkhok 3-0 today to become the champions of the 20th Sougaijam Birendra Singh Memorial Super Division League organised by Imphal West District Football Association at Football Turf Ground, Khuman Lampak.
CHIKL, Lilong Chajing edged past SKYC, Awang Sekmai by 2-1 goals in a league match held earlier.
The last league match saw MPSC enjoy most of the possession and scoring chances and eventually eased to a 2-0 lead in the first half before adding another to post their fourth win in 5 games and ensured their spot at this year's Winners Cup.
MPSC did not find it hard to penetrate defence line of BMSC, which are out of their form from the beginning of the tournament, but lack of finishing touch deterred them from making the headway for a better portion of the first half until Robinson tapped in the opening goal in the 35th minute. Fimate then double MPSC lead within three minutes to help his team seal the first half 2-0.
BMSC failed to stage a fight in the second half as well and their fate was sealed in the 68th minute when Khemi consolidated yet another goal for MPSC.
Simte of MPSC received the yellow card in the 49th minute of this match.
Earlier in the first match of the day, SKYC made a positive start with L Thangmenchole opening up the account in the 9th minute only to be equalised for CHIKL by K Amarjit in the 31st minute.
CHIKL added another goals through Th Jugesh in the 37th minute to overturn the lead.
Although SKYC tried hard to claw back into the game, CHIKL did an exceptional job to guard their lead till the final whistle.
Kh Dingku of CHIKL and K Newton of SKYC were respectively yellow carded in the 26th and the 46th minute of the match.