Thang-Ta Maheikol emerge team champions of 30th State Thang-Ta Championship


By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Aug 13 : Thang-Ta Maheikol (TTM), Yumnam Huidrom were crowned the champions of the 30th State Thang-Ta Championship hosted by Ukhrul District Thang-Ta Association at Bakshi Indoor Stadium, Hungpung in Ukhrul district under the aegis of Huyel Langlon Thang-Ta Association Manipur as the unit from Imphal West district amassed 130 points from 32 medals including 18 gold, 8 silver and 6 bronze medals.
Ibudhou Khamlangba Thang-Ta and Cultural Association, Moidampok managed the runners up title with 95 points from 13 gold, 6 silver and 6 bronze medals.
The last day of the competition saw senior men and women athletes compete in the Phunaba Ama and phunaba Ani events and Thanglon Khonglon-Khutlon and Thang Haiba events for all age groups.
Senior Women
K Anupama Chanu (-52 kg) of NLPTLK Thang-Ta, Mayang Imphal; Neha Yumkhaibam (-56 kg) of NEEHA, Moirang and N Robita Chanu (-60 kg) of Wangoo Thang-Ta Academy were able to win gold medals in the senior women's phunaba anishuba events.
Sh Sanatombi Devi (-44 kg) of TTM, Yumnam Huidrom and Ng Lakshmi Devi (-56 kg) of KRTA, Sagolband on the other hand bagged the senior women's phunaba ama gold in their respective weight categories.
Junior Boys and girls
Ch Naoba of IKTCA, Maklang fetched the Junior boys' -75 kg title without any fight.
Puinabati Angom of Thoibi Thang-Ta, Moirang on the other hand claimed the junior girls Phunaba Anishuba gold medal in the -57 kg category beating Y Dayarani Devi of TTM in the final. H Aleea Chanu of KTTCA, Lairikyengbam Leikai got the bronze medal in this event.
Senior Men's Phunaba Ama
L Shital Singh of KRTA, Sagolband won the -54 kg phunaba ama gold as he overcame Kumbi's W Yumnganba in the final while Ksh Dayananda of MIYAM, Top bagged the bronze medal.
P Babi Singh of PAHULASI, Mayaikoibi beat Th Korounganba of Langol Lukhoi Thang-Ta in the -62 kg final to win the gold while CLTA's RK Momosana Singh claimed the +80 kg gold after beating Kheljit Saikhom of PAHULASI in the final.
N Bishorjit Meitei (-46 kg) of Luwang Thang-Ta Academy, Sajor Leikai; S Seilesh Singh (-66 kg) of PAHULASI; L Somojit Singh (-70 kg) of PAHULASI; A Nabakanta Singh (-75 kg) of MIMCTTA, Naoremthong and A Lucky Singh (-80 kg) of CLTA also bagged gold medal each in their respective weight category.
Senior Men's Phunaba Anishuba
Kh Netrajit won the -50 kg phunaba anishuba event gold as he got the better of L Birbal Singh of Thoibi Thang-Ta Moirang in the final. W Shyam of Kanglasha was able to win the bronze medal of this event.
KMTA's K Lemba Singh (-54 kg), H Nganthoiba Singh (-58 kg) and Tondonba Wahengbam (-70 kg) also bagged phunaba anishuba gold medals for their unit today.
CLTA's Telheiba Asem (-46 kg), A Bunty Singh (-62 kg) and M Handsome (-66 kg) were also able to fetch gold medals for their units.
TTM's Khagemba Singh and S Surchandra on the other hand bagged phunaba anishuba gold medals respectively in the -75 kg and -80 kg events.
Thanglon Khonglon Khutlon
TTM managed a perfect gold medal sweep in Thanglon Khonglon Khutlon events today. L Borish won the sub-junior boys title and Umakanta won the junior boys' Thanglon Khonglon-Khutlon title for the same unit while Y Priya and Y Khagemba Singh respectively clinched the gold medals in the junior girls' and senior men's category. S Sanatombi of the same unit bagged the senior women's title.
Jyoti Sunar bagged the sub-junior girls gold in this event while S Rojika Chanu of TTM and Chandani Sunar of IKTCA, Moidampok won the silver and bronze medal respectively.
Thang Haiba
S Malemnganba of Pahulasi bagged the Thang Haiba gold in the sub-junior boys' category while his compatriot Dhanajit Wangkhem and Urejis Nongthombam of Luwang Thang-Ta Academy won the silver and the bronze medal respectively.
L Lingjenthoibi of KMTA, Pallel; Y Meghana Devi of Luwang Thang-Ta Academy and N Daisy Devi of Thoibi Thang-Ta, Moirang respectively won the gold, silver and the bronze medal in the sub-junior girls event.
Pahulasi's Leishemba Yengkhomcha also bagged a gold medal in the junior boys' Thang Haiba event while L Sophiya Chanu of TTM and K Lemba Singh fetched the junior girls' and senior men's titles respectively.
The closing ceremony of the tournament was attended by Dr Yaronso Ngalung, Chairman ADC; H Premkumar Singh, president Huyel Langlon Thang-Ta Association Manipur; Dr AS Kapangring, CMO Ukhrul and Nabachandr a Singh, DYASO, Ukhrul as dignitaries who also handed out medals and awards to the athletes. Senminthang Ronraof District Thang-Ta Association was adjudged boy's best disciplined player.