43rd Senior State Level Handball Tournament: ARC Shillong prevail on day 3 matches to ease into final

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Aug 7 : ARC Shillong managed 4 wins on the trot today to extend the winning streak to 5 matches in the men's competition and secured their final berth in the ongoing 43rd Senior Men's and Women's State Level Handball Championship organised under the aegis of Manipur Handball Association at BBA, Mayang Imphal ground.
ARC which got off with a 12-9 win against YLK in their opening matches registered their second win beating MPSC 21-17 today before easing to huge 43-19 win against CRPF.
ARC earned their third win against Public Club with a 20-10 finish before thumping Citizen 12-6 in their fifth match.
The first tie the day between MPSC and ARC saw N Ingocha top-score for MPSC with seven goals in his name and Th Hemanta fetch 4 more goals apart from N Atomba (2), Y Becker (2), N Dina (1) and Y Sushil (1) finding the net to make it a total of 17 goals but Ratankumar (6), Amar Roy (5) and  Yaiphaba (4) helped ARC post the 21-17 win and ended MPSC's winning run.
Lakpati, Kiranjit also bagged two goals each for ARC while Sanatomba and Th Gobin netted one goal apiece to ensure the victory.
Lenin (8), Lakpati (6), Amar Roy (6), Kiranjit (4), Sanatomba (4), Anupam (3), Santosh (4), Ratankumar (3), Prabin (2), Yaiphaba (2) and Kiranjit (1) all found the net for ARC in their 43-19 thrashing of CRPF. CRPF's goals were scored by Th Sanjoy (7), Vishnu (3), M Parsuram (2), Sukhwinder (2), Vinod Singh (2), Jaktar (1), Rajesh Sharma (1) and Amit Kumar (1).
The second match of the men's competition witnessed PC overcome YLK 19-12 with goals coming from Th Ingocha (6), E Priyokumar (6), Th Meghajit (3), Shahrukhan (3) and E Rakesh (1).
MPSC which went down in the hands of ARC however redeemed themselves in the 4th match of the day with a 25-09 thrashing of Citizen. Y Sushil led the scoring for MPSC (6 goals) while N Atomba and N Gobin scored 4 goals each. O Bijoy added 3 more goals for the team and H Ingocha, N Inaocha and Th Rabi got their names on the scoresheet for their respective 2-goal contributions while Y Becker Roy and O Devan managed a goal each.
The day also saw YLK seal a 15-12 win against BBA as K Binod, K Rajeshor and A Bikramjit found their forms.
K Binod made the most score of 4 goals while K Rajeshor and A Vikramjit scored 3 goals each. K Athouba and Th Silheiba also scored 2 goals each for YLK and their compatriot L Hemba found the target once. Samuel scored 5 goals alone for BBA but his effort failed to lift his team as they could managed 12 goals altogether. Yaiphaba scored 3 goals and Th Inaocha grabbed 2 goals for BBA besides A Tondonba and L Geetan scoring a goal each.
MPSC thump Citizen 23-15 in women's competition
Meanwhile in the women's competition which is featuring 4 teams, MPSC posted their third victory by holding off Citizen 23-15 and booked the final berth. MPSC had beaten YLK (14-8) and BBA (16-6) in their earlier fixtures.
It was a tense competition as, both the teams were looking for their third successive win as YLK had also registered two of two wins earlier but goals O Sandhyarani (9), Dimple M (4) and Ksh  Pabi (4) fired MPSC on the top despite S Soma's 10 goal feat for Citizen.
Ng Khomeiton (3), N Sushila (2) and N Babina (2) also scored to set up the third win for MPSC. Citizen's B Sunitibala (2), O Anjali (1), Th Jenila (1) and Th Anjubala (1) also found their names on the scoresheet.