Symporia FC win Ccpur Super Div League title


Our Correspondent
CCPUR, Sep 7 : Symporia were crowned champions of the 7th edition of T Lianboi Simte Memorial Churachandpur District Super Division League, beating Lenlai FC 3-2 in a closely contested final match played at Lamka Public Ground today.
Finalists, Symporia FC and Lenlai had a smooth campaign during the league with both sides collecting of 15 points each in their 5 league matches. Lenlai scored 14 goals during the campaign while Symporia have 12 goals to their credit. They have also shared same number of conceded goals with each side giving 3 each to their opponents.
Symporia FC's Paokhongam Haokip goal two minutes into the game gave his side an early lead  but Lenlai fought back well  as they were not in the mood to give up easily and it was Joseph Varte who helped the team draw level in the  27th minute. Zawlthanglien then capitalised on a chance two minutes latter and helped Lenlai overturn the lead.
Symporia FC which had made the most of the possession in the earlier proceedings made their way back into the game with Paominthang levelling the score with a fine shot in the 66th minute before Sianminthang completed the team's comeback in the 75th minute. Symporia FC then held on to their lead and eventually earned the league title.
Lamka Sports Club were given Fair Play Award for Best Disciplined Team while Siamminthang Valte was adjudged Player of the League.
Paokhongam Haokip of SYMROPIA FC and Khamginlian of Zoheisa FC both shared the top scorer award with 7 goals each; Seiminlen of Zoheisa FC was awarded the Best-Goalkeeper award while Mangminthang Haokip of Gothol FC was named as the Most Promising Player.