2nd MNCA U-16 Boys Naorem Rajningthou Singh Memorial Trophy gets underway

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 14 : The 2nd edition of MNCA U-16 Boys Naorem Rajningthou Singh Memorial Trophy 2020 kick-started today at Luwangpokpa Cricket ground with PTRC, Patsoi clinching a huge 117 run victory against ESU, Wangkhei. Altogether 14 teams clubbed into two groups are taking part in this tournament organised by Manipur Cricket Association.
PTRC were able to post a huge 171 run total for 8 in their quota of 20 overs after ESU won the toss and opted to field first. Rohit Sharma made the most of the scoring for PTRC with a 25-ball 31 run finish while Joyraj, Ravi  Sahu and Loya found their names on the scoresheet with 16, 15 and 13 runs respectively to set up the huge target.
ESU's Booker looked to play a crucial role in bowling department and clinched 3 wickets while his team mates Reewaj managed two wickets. Jenish also picked up a wicket in this innings.
To everyone's surprise, ESU were forced to bundle out for 46 runs in 12.2 overs as Ravi Sahu, Rohit Sharma and Pritam bowling left their batting line up in tatters.
Ronan was the best scorer for the Wangkhei side with 14 runs in his name while Jenit managed 10 runs after a shock start as openers fell cheaply to brilliant PTRC bowlers.
Ravi Sahu was the pick of PTRC bowlers as he scalped three in this innings which saw ESU's middle order go flop while Rohit and Pritam managed two wickets. Santosh also got his name on the scoresheet with a wicket in his name.
Rohit Sharma of PTRC was latter adjudged man of the match.
PTCC, Patsoi will meet CYCLONE, Thangmeiband in tomorrow at Luwangpokpa Cricket ground while CRAU and OSCAR will meet each other at Model Higher Secondary School and Oriental College ground in another match of the day.