November 7 by elections in 5 ACs Cong names four candidates


November 7 by elections i
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Oct 17: For the by-election to five vacant Assembly seats scheduled on November 7, Opposition Congress has named four candidates.
Ruling BJP has also already announced its candidates in four Assembly segments. While BJP left out Lilong AC, Congress has decided not to field any candidate in Singnat AC.
AICC Central Election Committee announced names of four candidates for the by-election this evening.
The four candidates are former Minister and MPCC vice-president are Moirangthem Hemanta (Wangjing-Tentha AC), formerly with the BJP and now with the Congress, ex-MLA Salam Joy (Wangoi AC) who left BJP and joined Congress sometime back, Dr Lamtinthang Haokip (Saitu AC) and Md Azziul Haque Khan (Lilong AC).
Speaking to some media persons this evening, MPCC president M Okendro exuded confidence that Congress party would be victorious in three out of five Assembly segments which would to by-polls on November 7.
All the Assembly segments which are going to by-polls were won by Congress party in the last Assembly election and there are large number of Congress voters in these Assembly segments, Okendro said.
Even though Congress party is not fielding any candidate in Singnat AC, the party would extend support to a like-minded, secular candidate, said the MPCC president.
Informing that MPCC has submitted a list of the party’s star campaigners for the by-election to the CEO, Okendro said that they would intensify their election campaign after withdrawal of nomination papers.
Meanwhile, separate teams have been constituted  who would take responsibility for Wangjing-Tentha AC, Wangoi AC, Lilong AC and Saitu AC with regard to the by-election.
A 14-member team led by MLA Govindas Konthoujam would be in-charge of Wangoi AC.      
A team of 11 members led by MLA DK Korungthang would take care of Lilong AC. A 12-member team led by MLA K Ranjit would take responsibility for Wangjing-Tentha AC. MLA Dr Chaltonlien Amo and his team comprising of 10 members would be in-charge of Saitu AC.