Wangoi by-election: Officials all set for counting votes today

Imphal, Nov 9 (DIPR):
The District Election Office, Imphal West is all set for the counting of the by-election to Wangoi Assembly Constituency.
The counting of votes scheduled to start from 8 am tomorrow will be held at two halls inside the DC Complex at Lamphelpat, Imphal West.
Counting of votes recorded on EVM will be conducted at Room No. H-15 on the first floor of the DC office building, where there will be seven (7) tables including one table for counting of VVPAT slips. Postal ballots will be counted inside the Kombirei hall located near the entrance of the DC office complex.
The sealed EVMs are stored inside the strong room located at room no H-22 on the first floor of the office building.  
Out of the 28,561 electors, a total of 27,103 voters cast their votes on the polling day of which 13,088 are males while 14,015 are female.
The final polling percentage was 94.90 percent.
The fate of the three candidates will be decided tomorrow when the final result is out. Out of the three candidates, two candidates namely  Oinam Lukhoi and  Salam Joy Singh have represented the Assembly constituency.
22-Wangoi A/C was bifurcated from the erstwhile Wangoi-Mayang Imphal Kendra after Manipur got statehood on 21st January 1972.  In the first Manipur Legislative Assembly election held in 1972, one Chungkham Rajmohon of MPP got elected from Wangoi AC as its first MLA.
In the second Manipur Legislative Assembly election of 1974, W Nipamacha Singh (INC) was elected. He was the first politician from Wangoi AC to become a Minister. He was the Education Minister during the tenure of Chief Minister Yangmasho Shaiza from 16th July 1977 to November 1979.
Ch Rajmohon of INC (I) returned to the third Manipur Legislative Assembly for the second time in the Legislative Assembly election conducted in 1980. Under the Chief Ministership of RK Dorendro of Congress (I), he served as Revenue Minister from June 1, 1980 to November 26, 1980. Rajmohon also got the Fishery portfolio after Rishang Keishang was sworn in as CM on December 10, 1980.In the 4th Manipur Legislative Assembly election of 1984, W Nipamacha Singh was elected as the MLA of Wangoi AC  for the second time on Janata Party ticket.
Again, W Nipamacha Singh got for the third time in the 5th Manipur Legislative Assembly election in 1990 on Congress (S) ticket and was given the PHED portfolio under the Chief Ministership of RK Ranbir.
W Nipamacha Singh again won the 6th Manipur Legislative Assembly elections in 1995 on INC(I) ticket. Interestingly, he became Speaker from March 22, 1995 to December 6, 1997 as well as Chief Minister from December 16, 1997 to March 2. He became the first-ever CM of Manipur from Wangoi AC.
In the 7th Manipur Legislative Assembly elections of 2000, W Nipamacha Singh of MSCP was elected for the fourth time and served as CM of Manipur from March 2,  2000 to January 14, 2001.
However, in the 8th Manipur Legislative Assembly election held in  2002, Y Mani Singh (MSCP) was elected and got the post of a Cabinet Minister in the Government of CM Okram Ibobi Singh.One of the present candidates, Salam Joy Singh of NCP was elected as MLA of Wangoi A/C in the 9th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election held in 2007.
Oinam Lukhoi Singh of AITC won the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election in 2012 and he got his second inning as an MLA  on Congress ticket in this current 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly election which was held in March, 2017.
O Lukhoi Singh resigned from the MLA ship, and later was sworn-in as Agriculture, Veterinary & Animal Husbandry, Tourism Minister in the present BJP-led government and is now contesting in the by-election 2020 from Wangoi AC.