32nd East Zone Jr Athletics ChampionshipsManipur earn two gold to end campaign with 12 medals


32nd East Zone Jr Athleti
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Dec 29 : Manipur athletic team ended the year on a positive note managing 12 medals including two gold medals at the 32nd East Zone Junior Athletics Champion-ships held at Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati since yesterday till today.
In the last day of the zonal event which was held after a long halt of sporting event in the country for nearly 9 months due COVID-19 outbreak, State athletes secured 2 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze medals to wind up the championship with a haul of 2 gold, 6 silver and 4 bronze medals.
Ningthoukhongjam William and Shidhu Bhusan were the athletes who bagged the gold medals for the State today in their U-20 boys events. William earned the top honour in the 10 km walking race with a time of 47:42 while Shidhu Bhusan grabbed the other gold with the best finish of 22.60 seconds in the 200 m race.
Huidrom Bhumeshwori gifted Manipur a silver medal today in the U-18 girls 800 m race with a time of 2 minutes 24.46 seconds as Khumanthem Sunil Singh finished second in the U-20 boys 400 m hurdle race to earn the other silver medal for the State.
The third silver medal came with Nongmaithem Ashamitra Devi   finishing second in the U-14 girls high jump with her 1.25 m jump. She also bagged a bronze medal in the long jump event with a leap of 3.63 m. The other bronze medal of the day was earned by Leishembi Mutum in the U-16 girls shot put event with a throw of 7.83 m.
Earlier yesterday, Md Aslam Khan won a silver medal in the U-16 boys long jump event with a leap of 6.18 m as Athokpam Anjita won a bronze medal in the U-16 girls’ long jump event with 4.45 m leap.
Rajkumar Dayananda Meitei won a bronze in the U-18 boys’ 400 m race with a time of 53.90 seconds as Sidhu Bhusan in the U-20 boys’ 100 m race taking 11.30 seconds while to win a silver medal.
Khumanthem Anjana Devi also added another silver medal to the State’s tally by taking 21 minutes and 40.30 seconds in the 5000 m race for U-20 girls.