YUCC lift 2nd MNCA U-16 Boys N Rajningthou Memorial Trophy


Ranji_1  H x W:
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Feb 12 : YUCC, Kwakeithel Moirang Purel defeated YWC, Langthabal by 27 runs to claim the title of the 2nd MNCA U-16 Boys Naorem Rajningthou Memorial Trophy today at Luwangpokpa Cricket ground.
YUCC won the toss of the final match and were able to post a sub-par total of 116 runs for all wickets down in 25.5 overs after electing to bat first. YUCC then restricted YWC for 88 to claim the title of the 14-team tournament organised under the aegis of Manipur Cricket Association.
YUCC suffered a big blow losing Thoiba early on 6 off 9 balls but his opening partner Bidyashwor provided the initial momentum with 32 off 65 balls.
His departure however led to gradual breakdown of their innings as Richer of YWC scalped 4 crucial wickets and Soubam Robinson grabbed two wickets adding the bowling attack. The innings also saw 15 extras being conceded by YWC bowlers.
Although the target was not so big, YWC had a shocking start as they lost first three wickets including Herojit and Manikanta on ducks and Seram Robinson with just 3 runs in his name.
Rohit who came up at no. 4 managed to ease their nerves adding 26 off 37 for a while and Soubam Robinson offered 12 off 21 balls before Basu added another 20 runs before witnessing a big collapse at 88 in 22.1 overs as Bikash and Dibak's bowling effort reaped rewards for YUCC.
Bikash finished with best figure of 5 for 25 in 6 overs while Dipak picked up 4 wickets for 7 in 6 overs as Punshiba claimed the 10th wicket. Bikash of YUCC was eventually named man of the match for his fifer in this innings which led to downfall of YWC chase.
YUCC were awarded cash prize of Rs 15,000 along with a trophy during the closing ceremony of the tournament while runners up, YWC had to contend with Rs 10,000. Man of the series, highest run scorer awards (Rs 2,000 each) went to Pheiroijam Jotin of PTRC who amassed 301 runs off 29 balls including 2 centuries and a half century and had 19 wickets to his name in 4 matches.
Pheiroijam Jotin (19 wickets in 4 matches) was also emerged highest wicket taker along with Punshiba (19 wickets of YUCC).
PCC on the other hand bagged the fair play team award of Rs 3,000 while Moirangtham Reichen of OSCAR who managed 183 runs and 5 wickets was adjudged with best emerging player of the tournament and feted with Rs 2,000.