Combined team arrest three over Wangjing blast

Our Correspondent
Thoubal, Mar 23: A combined team of Thoubal police and 113 Bn BSF arrested three persons, including an organisation secretary of Reformist Student's Front (RSF) involved in the bomb blast that took place near 113 Bn BSF E-Coy, Wangjing Tekcham Leika at around 7.25 pm Sunday.
After the attack, the combined team rushed to the area and conducted cordon and search operation and house to house search.
During the operation, a blood-soaked jacket was found. The combined team then followed the blood trail up to the western bank of Heirok River and conducted intensive search operation there. After crossing Heirok River, while searching an area at Wangjing Wangkhei, the team surrounded two suspected houses and rounded up one suspected person namely Aribam Md Iliyas Khan (22 yrs), S/o Md Heshamuddin Khan alias Tomba of Sangaiyumpham Part-I, Puleipokpi.
On spot inquiry, he disclosed that he along with one Phundreimayum Md Akram Hussain (22 yrs), S/o Md Muheiruddnn of Sangaiyumpham Part-I Puleipokpi planted the IED on the instruction of one Khumukcham Pradeep Luwang (33 yrs), S/o Kh Mangoljao Singh of Kakching Khunou Thingnam Bokul Leikai.
Immediately, the team rushed to Sangaiyumpham area and arrested Phundreimayum Md Akram Hussain. Khumukcham Pradeep Luwang was also arrested from near Khangabok Higher Secondary School, later.
On querying, Khumukcham Pradeep confessed that he went to Moreh along with Aribam Md lliyaa Khan in January 2020 and met the commander of the banned UG group PREPAK namely S/s Comdr Tamocha,  who provided the materials necessary for assembling IED, and one of his cadre at Myanmar.
On the disclosure of Khumukcham Pradeep Luwang, 7  detonators, explosive chemicals weighing 2.530kg,  one electronic circuit, one multimeter with wires, one remote control device, one dry battery (9 Volt), three mobile handsets were recovered from the house of Aribam Md Iliyas Khan.
It may be mentioned that Aribam Md lliyas Khan is the organisation secretary of RSF (Reformist Students Front), Thoubal Branch.