State set for semi-finals of Chandel Second Divn Football League

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 2 : The semi-finals line up of the ADC Chandel Trophy Second Division Football League 2019-20 was completed today with the end of the league stage.
The day saw Modi CSC get a walkover against CFF Veteran as the latter team did not turn up, but it was not enough for Modi CSC to get the semi-final berth as Paraolon YC topped the table (pool B) with a huge 6-2 victory against Kanankhu YC in a crucial match.
D Shetring shone in this group winners deciding match by netting thrice for Paraolon YC. The game was so unpredictable as Paraolon YC and Kanakhu YC were locked at 2-2 till the break before the former team surged ahead in the latter half for the 6-2 finish and earn their second win in league stage. Kanankhu YC too have earned two successive wins earlier but the result left Paraolon on top with better goal count despite sharing same 6 points.
D Shetring opened up Paraolon YC's account when the match was only 9 minutes old but their lead did not last long as TS Marson put Kanankhu YC on level term scoring the equaliser in the 15th minute. D Shetring stamped his scoring prowess with another goal in the 19th minute to break the deadlock but Kanankhu YC were able to restore parity within three minutes as NL Mowarngam find the equaliser.
After settling a 2-2 draw till the break, Paraolon YC gained control of the match unexpectedly dominating the possession and making most of their chances to pump in four more goals as Kanankhu YC lost their tempo and never recovered.
D Wangtong found Paraolon YC's third goal in the 47th minute before Ju Wangtit made it 4-2 with a fine strike in the 65th minute. D Shetring then grabbed his third in the 75th minute as Kanankhu continued to slump and it was TS  Bungring who took the honour to slam home the final nail in the 79th minute.
Four teams which topped their respective pools and made it to the semi-finals (Kankhu Athletic FC, Paraolon YC, Japhou YC and Khongjon YC were promoted to the 1st Division League groups).
Kankhu Athletic FC will play Paraolon YC in the first semi-final match on March 4 at 11 am at Liwa Sarei ground while Japhou YC will play Khongjon YC in the second semi-final match latter at 2 pm at the same venue.