LCCC cruise to Veteran T-20 Cricket Tourney title

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 4: LCCC Lilong Chajing were crowned champions of the 8th T20 Manipur Veteran Cricket Tournament 2020 as they thrashed YWC Langthabal by 5 wickets in the final today at Langthabal Public Ground .
N Sanjit Singh of LCCC Lilong, who took 3 wickets and 19 runs, was named the man of the match.
LCCC, Lilong  won the toss and bowled first to restrict YWC for 106 runs in 19 overs.
Sashikanta, Manaobi, Gojendro and Rojesh contributed 29 runs (off 15 balls), 24 (28), 14 (17) and 11 (9) for YWC to pile up 106. LCCC’s Sanjit and Iqbal scalped 3 and 2 wickets respectively to trigger the gradual collapse while their team mates Krishna and Jilla scalped one wicket each.
In the chase LCCC rode on Indrakumar  (35), Gulson (26 runs off 21 balls), Sanjit (19 runs off 11 balls) and Krishna (10 runs off 10 balls) to gather 107 runs for 5 in just 15.3 overs. Priyokumar of YWC took two wickets while Rojesh, Kumarjit and Premchandra claimed one wicket each.
Winners LCCC went home Rs 15,000 richer as runners up YWC were awarded Rs 10,000 with a trophy. Two loser semi finalists- CYCLONE and Model Club were also awarded Rs 1,000 each.
Krishnakumar of LCCC and Saratchandra of Model Club shared the award for Highest Wicket Taker with 8 wickets in their belts while Sashikumar of CYCLONE who took 279 runs in four matches was awarded Rs 1,000 with a trophy. Suresh of Model Club won the man of the series award carrying Rs 2,000 for his score of 273 runs and taking 7 wickets in the tournament. N Sanjit , who was named the man of the final match was also feted with Rs 1,000.