1st MNCA Women T-20 Trophy Team A to play Team C for title clash

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 22 : Team A and Team C will lock horns on January 24 for the title of the 1st MNCA Women T-20 Trophy 2020-21 organised by the Manipur Cricket Association since January 19.
With three of three wins in the four team competition, Team A finished on pole position and Team B finished second with two wins after today's debacle against Team A in their third round clash.
Team D on the other hand ended their campaign without any point losing to Team B in their penultimate and the third round clash.
In the fight for the pole position, Team A successfully chased down the paltry target of 54 runs as set by Team C after winning the toss.
Kiranbala added highest for the team C with the least double digit score (10 off 14 balls) in this innings as Team A's bowling attack led by Ganga and Jeeteshwari proved effective.
Both the bowlers shared two wickets each as their compatriots Meri and Kalpana claimed a wicket apiece to help press and restrict Team C to 53 for 7 in 20 overs.
The chase for team A looked a bit tough in the beginning as Team C bowlers removed top orders on cheap scores but Meri produced a brilliant middle order performance pushing the team to the target within 15 overs with an unbeaten knock of 13 runs and with 4 wickets left to spare for the team.
Kiranbala picked up two wickets in this innings but it was not enough for the team to stop Team A from finishing atop. Meri of Team A was named player of the match for her all round feat.
Meanwhile in the other match of the day, Team B posted a total of 149 for 7 after winning the toss and electing to bat first and successfully held Team D for 141 for 5 to finish their campaign with a win in three matches.
Monica shone with a stupendous half century (44-ball 72) to help team B set an impressive target of 150 runs. Bidyarani of the same team also contributed 21 runs off 37 balls in this innings which saw L Linthoi scalp three wickets and Khadija managed two.
In reply, Team D's Prena looked to set the early momentum before she went out on 20.  RK Linthoi then took charge of the chase scoring 63 off 41 balls and Binomala strived hard with an unbeaten 22, but economical bowling and concerted fielding effort of team B forced them to end their innings 9 runs away from the win despite having 5 wickets left in the hand.
Monica who took a wicket after topscoring with 72 was adjudged player of the match.