10th State Cross Country C'ship LSA's Md Sadik claims men's open title


10th State Cross Country
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Jan 25 : Md Sadik of LSA-Lilong clinched the men's open title of the 10th State Cross Country Championship which was organised today by the Athletic Association of Manipur at Khuman Lampak Sports Complex.
Competition for various age categories including U-20 boys, U-20 girls, U-18 boys, U-18 girls and women were also held as a part of the championship.
In the men's open competition (10 km), Md Sadik completed the course in 35 minutes  23.68 seconds to finish atop as AMESCO's Premkumar Sharma (36:53.49) and PRSC-Pourabi's Khumbongmayum Sushil (38:40.50) finished second and third.
In the competition for U-20 boys (8 km), Md Sahidur Rahaman of LSA earned the top place with a time of 27:36.81. Laishram Ingo Singh of HYC (28:10.65) and Oinam Premjit of KNSAA (28:40.72) finished second and third respectively in the competition.
In the U-18 boys competition (6 km), Md Abdul Razak of AAS clocked 20.42.61 to finish first as Laishram Pari Meitei of KNSAA (20:59.94) and Sapam Arnold Meitei of SAI (21:13.54) finished second and third respectively.
In the U-16 boys competition (2 km), N John of KNSAA bagged the top honour completing the course in 6 minutes 16.07 seconds while Md Badaruddin of AAS (6:18.06) and Kh Javed of LSA (6:22.06) secured second and third place respectively.
Meanwhile in the women's event (10 km), Ayekpam Sai Chanu of HYC claimed the first place with a time of 42:59.78 as Khumanthem Anjana of HAU topped the U-20 girls event (6km) with a time of 25:22.04 and WM Rabiya of LSA (27:28.61) finished second.
H Bhumeshwory of SAI managed the U-18 girls' (4 km) title taking 15 minutes and 31.76 seconds while Th Maria Chanu of HYC (18:03.53) and L Krishnakumari of SAI (18:29.80) earned the third and second place.
M Nijelata of SAI was on the other hand crowned the U-16 girls champion (2 km run) as she covered the course in 7 minutes 54.93 seconds. Ksh Tony of PRSC (8:28.59) and Ksh Toniya of PRSC (8:36.30) finished second and third in this event.