Minister L Dikho graces 21st NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy


Minister L Dikho graces 2
Our Correspondent
Senapati, Oct 10:  The prestigious 21st Naga students’ Federation (NSF) Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy 2021 organised by the Angami Students' Union (ASU) kick-started yesterday under the theme “Goal for Peace” at Indira Gandhi Stadium, Kohima in the presence of Manipur's PHED Minister L Dikho as the special guest.
Before the kick off, the Minister paid rich tribute to the Martyrs at NSF Martyrs Park accompanied by MLA Medo Yokha, Advisor, Higher and Technical Education, Govt of Nagaland and MLA Khriehu Liezietsu, Govt of Nagaland and president NSF. The Manipur's Minister entourage included leaders from tribal CSOs and student leaders.
Gracing the inaugural function, L Dikho in his address appreciated the NSF and ASU for carrying out its commitment to bring peace and better understanding among the Nagas through the sporting event. The NSF Martyrs' Memorial Trophy should be converted into a National level sporting event, he suggested.
Stating that sports play a very important role and has become a huge industry in the modern world, Dikho called upon the Naga youth to give their best and excel in the field of sports.
The inaugural function was chaired by ASU tribunal general Neizokhotuo Belho as ASU president Bisevi Nakhro delivered the welcome address and organizing committee convenor Dievi Yano delivered the keynote address.
In the meantime, NSF president  Kegwayhun Tep shared the solidarity message  and secretary games & sports ASU Thejalhoukho Thomas Khawakhrie administered oath to the participating teams.
The Trophy is organised in honour of two comrades-Lt Kekuojalie Sachü of Kohima village and Lt Vikhozo Yhoshü of Kigwema village, who were victims to the indiscriminate firing of the Armed Police from Alichen on March 20 1986 while they were participating a NSF led protest against the then Nagaland Government's on the extension of the disturb area belt from 5 to 30 km along Indo-Myanmar border and against the induction of Indian Police Service (IPS) cadres into the State of Nagaland.
 In the inaugural match of the football tournament, Phesama Youth Organization defeated New Market FC by 5-3. Altogether 52 teams registered for the tournament, which would continue till November 6.