2nd Manipur State Invitation Boxing Championships 2021 begins


2nd Manipur State Invitat
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Oct 5 : The second edition of Manipur State Invitation Boxing Championships 2021 (Sub-junior and Junior boys and girls) organised by Manipur Amateur Boxing Association (MABA) began today here at the Boxing Arena of Khuman Lampak Sports Complex.
The inaugural function of the championship was attended by Keishamthong AC MLA, L Jayantakumar; Ng Tejkumar, vice president MABA; S Sushil Kumar, former Corporator of Imphal Municipal Corporation as dignitaries.
Speaking as the chief guest of the function, L Jayantakumar expressed regret over lack of State policy to support and encourage budding players and lack of up-to-date sports infrastructure in the State.
Legendary boxer Ng Dingko who passed away recently was also fondly remembered during the inaugural function of the championship which will run till October 9. In all, 230 boxers (75 sub-junior boys, 37 sub-junior girls, 97 junior boys and 39 junior girls) will be competing for top honours in their respective weight categories.
Day 1 bouts (preliminary rounds)
In the sub-junior boys' 49 kg preliminary round bout, Angom Ronaldo Meitei of AUS got the better of Rakesh Konjengbam of IIS to move into the next round.
Meekness Khaidem of MKBA downed PBA's Malem Ningthoukhongjam in a 52 kg category bout. Prabin Naorem of SRBA also beat Elangbam Thangal of IND in another bout of the same weight category.
In a junior boys' 50 kg category bout, IVRBS's Thokchom Bishwamitra Singh downed LUC's Stephen Lunginsang.
Elangbam Sunanda of IND beat Heikrujam Kishan of TBA to move into the next round of the 52 kg category as MKBA's Irungbam Malemnganba beat AUS's Ashem Robert; NBA's Yumkhaibam Armond beat SRBA's Maibam Amarjoshi and Khwairakpam Danyson of IND downed KBA's Ningthoujam Chinglensana.
In the junior boys' 54 kg category bouts, KBA's Mongjam Radison Singh beat LUC's Arnold Lalminlun Vaiphei, IVRBS's Thokchom Amitkumar beat AAYCA's Huidrom Alexsana and Md Ajim of SRBA beat Bilat Leivon Kom.
In the junior boys' 57 kg category bout, Yengkhom Henary of AUS beat Likmabam Abhijit Meitei of IND.
Meanwhile in the 60 kg category bouts, Haobijam Hera Meitei of IND beat Joel Lallian of LUC, Lanchenba Mangang Yumnam of MKBA beat Soibam Yohenba of ABA, Laishram Luhen Meitei of NBA beat H Rohit of IND and  K Roshan of AAYCA beat UBA's Konsam Lenin to advance to next rounds.
In the lone bout for junior girls 48 kg category staged today, Sanabam Surmala Chanu of TBA beat MKBA's Mayengbam Sagar Chanu.