10th K Karnajit Singh Memorial Second Division Football League begins

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 15 : The 10th edition of K Karnajit Singh Memorial Second Division Football League Tournament organised by the Imphal West District Football Association kicked off today at PAMYAL ground, Patsoi today.
The inaugural programme of the tournament participated by 8 teams clubbed into two groups was attended by Loitongbam Naba Singh, president DSA Bishnupur and Wahengbam Mobicha Singh, president Imphal West District Football Association as presidium members.
The opening match (Group A) of the tournament was played between YWC, Malom and NISC, Lairenjam wherein the Malom team sealed a comfortable 3-1 win.
YWC and NISC engaged themselves in action right from the word go and it was reflected clearly on the scoreboard as the opening half ended 2-1 in YWC's favour.
YWC took 8 minutes to open up the scoring via M Biken before M Arvind doubled the team's advantage two minutes later.
O Ramananda however pulled back a goal for the Lairenjam side in the 27th minute. It, however, proved to be their only goal as second half efforts did not materialize and to their disappointment S Saimon Peter scored a late 74th minute goal for YWC to make it 3-1 at the end.
IFC, Lamphel will play KAN, Kadangband in the first Group B league match of the tournament on November 18 before KYC, Khurkhul face Juvenile, Tera later in the same day in a Group A league match.