NPP will emerge as single largest party: Conrad


NPP_1  H x W: 0
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 24: National People’s Party (NPP) national president and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma has reiterated that NPP would emerge as the single largest party in the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election and the party would play a key role in forming the next Govern-ment.
A warm reception function was held today in honour of former MLA K Sarat from Konthoujam AC, M Ranjit from Wabagai AC and M Dhanabir from Hiyanglam AC who have joined NPP recently and have been preparing to contest the forthcoming election on NPP tickets.
Speaking at the reception function held at the Patsoi residence of H Vikram, another intending candidate of NPP, Conrad K Sangma claimed that NPP’s popularity has been soaring in Manipur as the election approaches.
In a symbolic gesture, the NPP president presented the party’s flags to the new members and intending candidates of the party.
Conrad Sangma asserted that NPP would definitely take a decisive role in the formation of the next Govt as the party would emerge as the single largest party.
He said that a State election committee would be constituted soon to finalise the party’s candidates and other related matters.
He further informed that the party’s central office would issue a notification after a meeting of the State election committee is held in the next couple of days.
The Meghalaya Chief Minister stated that a mega youth conference of the North East region would be held at Imphal on December 10.
Several issues concerning the North East region would be deliberated at the conference and certain resolutions would be adopted, Conrad Sangma said.
He said that he would come back to Imphal again to take part in the conference.
He then appealed to all concerned to work collectively as a well-disciplined team and respect the decisions taken by party leaders.
The reception ceremony organised by the NPP State unit was also attended by Deputy CM Y Joykumar, NPP State unit president N Kayisii and working president L Jayantakumar.