Manipur patriotic solo song competition held


Manipur patriotic solo so
IMPHAL, Nov 24
Manipur University Students' Union (MUSU) organised a State level open Manipur patriotic solo song competition on the theme of 'Sacrifice and Survive Together' at the Centenary Hall of Manipur University today.
The function was attended by Professor Debananda Ningthoujam, president Manipur University Teachers' Association (MUTA) as chief guest; Maibam Michael, president MUSU as president of the ceremony while Dr L Bishwanath Sharma, Dean MU Students Welfare and Dr Rajkumar Suresh, Cultural Coordinator, MU were present as guests of honour.
Speaking on the occasion, Professor Debananda Ningthoujam expressed his appreciation towards the participants of the competition and remarked that patriotism also means taking care of the ecosystem on top of working together for the welfare of the State. He asserted that the competition will foster a spirit of patriotism amongst the people.
Altogether 29 participants competed in the event and renowned music director Sagolsem Tijendra from Moirangkhom Loklaobung, State awardee Konsam Santa from Kongba Makha Nandeibam and musician/composer Gurumayum Hemchandra were the jury members.
It may be noted that Sinam Babina, Abo Ningombam and Amrika Sorokhaibam won the 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions respectively.
While Moirangthem Shamananda, Laishram Rohit, Thaithusin Gangmei, Gyanagen Nameirakpam, Soibam Borish, Moirangthem Dingku and Okram Sonika received consolation prizes.