Cdl Second Divn Football Modi CSC set up semi-final date with Chandel Khullen YC

By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 24 : Modi CSC beat Aimol Chingnunghut SA on penalties to set up semi-final date with Chandel Khullen YC in the ADC Chandel Trophy Second Division Football Tournament being organised by DSA Chandel at Ziontlang Football Ground and Liwa Sarei Ground.
In the first quarter final match of the day, Chandel Khullen overwhelmed Purum Tampak SC at Ziontlang ground.
TS Nicky stole the show as he scored twice, one each on either side of the break in Chandel Khullen YC's 5-0 demolition of Purum Tampak SC.
After a cautious start from both the ends, PS Bekan broke the deadlock for Chandel Khullen YC in the 19th minute and PS Thangtha doubled their advantage in the 30th minute. Three minutes later, TS Nicky had his first and Thangkipao netted the very next minute to help Chandel Khullen YC enter the break with a 4-0 lead.
The Chandel Khullen rested back for a major portion of the game after the restart until TS Nicky found his second in the 54th minute. The Purum Tampak side however worked diligently to avoid further scoring from their rivals and eventually Chandel Khullen went home 5-0.
Later in the last quarter final match, Modi CSC came back twice to play out a 2-2 draw with Aimol Chingnunghut SA during normal time before sealing the game 6-3 as they prevailed 4-1 in the penalty shoot-out.
The two sides were neck and neck right from the beginning but TS Seino handed the Aimol Chingnunghut SA the early advantage with a freak second minute goal.
Modi CSC however rallied back and took 9 minutes to draw level courtesy WS Minthang.
After settling the first half in a 1-1 draw, M Johnson helped Aimol Chingnunghut SA regain the lead in the 46th minute. The Aimol Chingnunghut were poised to seal the game but it was ST Thompas who hit the equaliser for Modi CSC in the 70th minute and kept the competition wide open.
As both sides failed to find the winner during normal time, the game was stretched to kicks from the penalty mark wherein WS Minthang, BS Mono, ST Thompas and BD Beloveson scored it for Modi CSC for the 4-1 finish against Aimol Chingnunghut SA whose M Johnson only found the net.
Anal Khunou YC will play Lambung YCC in the first semi-final match tomorrow at 1.30 pm before Modi CSC face off against Chandel Khullen YC for the remaining final berth at 3.30 pm.