ESU emerge champions of AMFA Sr Women's Football League


ESU emerge champions of
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Mar 27 : ESU Wangkhei has won the 11th AMFA Sr Women's Football League for BM Singh Trophy as they thumped AMMA FC 7-1 in their final league match of the season at artificial turf Lamlong Thongkhong, today.
Notably, the champions ESU women team has won all their league matches of the season.
In the first match of the day, ESU sealed a comfortable 7-1 win over AMMA FC Andro.
The Wangkhei women team netted 5 goals in the 1st half and 2 in the 2nd half to take home the win.
Umabati smashed home the opening goal for ESU in the 22nd minute while her teammate Priyangka extended the lead to 2-0 7 minutes later.
Adding salt to the injury of AMMA FC, ESU's Sultana fired in two consecutive goals in the 33rd and 38th minute, before Prameshwori netted the last goal of the first half.
The Wangkhei women team showed dominance in the second half too and succeeded in scoring two more goals - Kimnungshang (60'); Anju Chanu (67').
The lone goal of the losing side came from Abem in the  75th minute.
With this remarkable win, ESU has got the opportunity to compete in the qualifying round of the Indian Women League which will be conducted under the All India Football Federation (AIFF)
Meanwhile, the second match of the day and the final of the season played between MPSC Police and YWC ended in a goalless draw.
The closing ceremony of the league was graced by social worker Th Arunkumar Singh; AMFA president, M Ratankumar Singh and M Devananda Singh, legal advisor to AMFA.