YWU emerge champions of 18th KK Memorial 1st Divn Football League


YWU emerge champions of 1
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 9 : YWU, Kakching were crowned champions of the 18th Kishorkumar Memorial 1st Division Football League organised by DSA Kakching with three of three wins in final league round of the tournament.
YWU completed the winning treble today by notching up a comfortable 4-1 win against AIFA, Irengband in the last league encounter of the tournament at DSA playground in Kakching.
Having beaten KMSWC and DYA in dominating styles earlier, confident YWU continued to maintain their form.
Despite conceding a goal to AIFA when Vikash converted a chance in the 14th minute, YWU remained composed and drew level courtesy Nobinchandra in the 30th minute before Longamba completed the turnaround in the 34th minute.
There was no looking back for the team after the goal and it took another 33 minutes for relentless YWU to add another via Denish and make it 3-1 past stunned AIFA.
AIFA continued to languish as they were forced to confine into their own half as YWU carried forward their attacking momentum.
After a series of runs, AIFA had to concede one more goal lately with Surjakanta firing home the finisher one minute from time and making it 4-1 in favour of YWU.
With two wins in three matches, KMSWC-Keirak finished runners up in this league tournament while DYA-Elangkhangpokpi and AIFA were placed third and fourth with 1 points in their names in the final league round.
Winners were feted with a cash prize of Rs 5000 while runner up had to contend  with a cash prize of Rs 4,500.
Best goalkeeper of the tournament-Ksh Zidane of YWU; best defender-P Johnson of YWU; best midfielder-M Denish of YWU; highest scorer and best player- Md Samir of KMSWC were also feted with cash prize of Rs 700 each.
Best discipline team, DYA on the other hand received a cash prize of Rs 2,000.