Luwangpokpa T-20 Trophy : Al-Ameen, KSDO, PCC emerge victorious


Luwangpokpa T-20 Trophy_1
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 16 : Al-Ameen, Lilong; KSDO, Kiyamgei and PCC, Mayaikoibi registered wins today in league round matches of the ongoing 3rd MNCA Luwangpokpa T-20 Trophy.
In the Group A league match staged at Luwangpokpa Cricket Ground, Al-Ameen defeated RCA, Lilong Tairen Makhong by 13 runs.
After winning the toss, Al-Ameen went in to bat first and stacked up a total of 136 runs for 7 in the stipulated 20 overs riding on Md Mustaque's 24-ball 42, Nashir's 41 off 58 balls and Al Bashid's 20.
Aziz Mirza was the pick of RCA bowlers as he snatched three wickets for 20 in 4 overs and his team mate Parvesh struck twice. Saba Khan and Aslam also managed a wicket apiece in Al-Ameen's innings.
RCA however faltered in the chase and succumbed at 123 for 7 in their quota of 20 overs despite Aslam Khan's effort (43).
Bashir Rahaman, Nashir Shah, Noushad Ali and Al-Bashid of Al-Ameen all bagged one wicket each and maintained good economy to help their team restrict RCA from scoring big.
Nashir Shah of Al-Ameen who scored 41 runs and picked up a wicket was named man of the match.
Later in a Group B league match staged at the same venue, PCC rode on Santosh (70 off 55 balls) and Chingkheihunba (3/11) to secure a 36 run victory against KASC, Khomidok.
PCC managed 129 runs for 8 after electing to bat first as Santosh topscored with a blistering knock of 70 runs and restricted KASC to 93 for 8 in 20 overs as Chingkheihunba and Jobanta (2/15) wreaked havoc with their prolific bowling performances.
In PCC's innings, Md Babu dismissed two while Farijuddin, Anjum and Tarique Aziz managed a wicket each.
Anjan and Santosh also picked up a wicket each to help PCC tame KASC batting attack led by Najir Khan (26) and Javed Akhtar (18).
Santosh who gave an all round performance was named man of the match.
Bowlers shine as KSDO notch up 7 wicket win
Elsewhere at Model Higher Secondary School and Oriental College playground, KSDO kicked off their Group C campaign with a dominating 7 wicket win against SDC, Laipham Khunou.
SDC won the toss and decided to bat first but as Shah Nawaz and Abdul Rafique ran riot across their batting line up, they bundled out on a meagre total of 92 runs in 18.4 overs.
Subhaschandra (34) and Monish (18) were the top scorers for SDC before KDSO rode on Reehaj (36) and Shamir (33) to achieve the target (93) in 11.4 overs at the loss of 3 wickets.
Rafique of KSDO (3 wickets and 3 runs) was eventually named man of the match.