Al Bashid stars as Al-Ameen secure Thoubal District T-20 Tournament title


Al Bashid stars as Al-Ame
By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Apr 21 : Al-Ameen, Lilong Bazar defeated WYC, Wangkhem by 26 runs to secure the title of the Thoubal District T-20 Cricket League Cum Knock Out Tournament organised by the Thoubal District Cricket Association at Moijing playground today.
In the final match of the 6 team tournament staged today, Al-Ameen won the toss and chose to bat first.
Riding on half centuries by Bashir (57) and Al Bashid (55), Al-Ameen posted an imposing total of 159 runs for 4 in 20 overs and then squeezed WYC to 133 for 10 in 18.4 overs relying on Al-Bashid's four wicket haul.
Laksmon managed two wickets in Al-Ameen's innings and James picked up a single before their chase collapsed unexpectedly despite efforts from Samungou (31) and Sana (45).
Also adding teeth to Al-Ameen's bowling attack were Bashir and Mustak who finished with two wickets each.  Safnan and Nashir also earned a wicket each to apply brake on WYC's chase.
Al-Bashid who hit a half century and enjoyed a four wicket haul (4/25 in 3.4 overs) eventually bagged the man of the final match accolade which consisted of a cash prize of Rs 1,000 and a trophy.
Game changer of the final match award (Rs 1,000 and a trophy) on the other hand went to Bashir of Al-Ameen who shone with a 47-ball 57 and snatched two wickets.
Winners, Al-Ameen were feted with a cash prize of Rs 40,000 and a trophy as runners up, WYC received a cash prize of Rs 30,000 and a trophy.
Al-Bashid also emerged man of the tournament and was feted with another cash prize of Rs 5,000 and a trophy.
He had scored a total of 203 runs and fetched 11 wickets in the tournament.
Sankar of WYC was adjudged best batsman for his feat of 204 runs in the tournament while Al-Bashid received the best bowler award. Both the prizes contain a cash prize of Rs 5,000 and a trophy.
RCA were announced best discipline team and too feted with a cash prize of Rs 5,000 and a trophy.
Youngest player of the tournament, Zamir of RCA was also encouraged with a cash prize of Rs 1000 and a trophy.
Senior most player, Samungou of WYC and best fielder of the tournament, Mustaque of Al Ameen were also feted during the valedictory function of the tournament which was graced by Singam Priyananda Singh, secretary of MNCA; Md Anwar Hussain, president of Thoubal District Cricket Association and Haji Ferdos, social worker as presidium members.